Ironville, Derbyshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Ironville, Derbyshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England Wiki Topics
Flag of England
Beginning Research
Record Types
England Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
England
Derbyshire
Derbyshire Parishes
Ironville

Guide to Ironville, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ironville, Derbyshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Scarsdale
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Belper
Registration District Belper
Records begin
Parish registers: 1852
Bishop's Transcripts: 1852
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Alfreton
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Parish History

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Ironville like this:

IRONVILLE, a village in Alfreton parish, Derby; and a chapelry partly also in Pentrich parish and Codnor-Park extra-parochial tract, Derby, and Selston parish, Notts. The village stands at the end of the Pinxton canal, close to the Erewash cana1, 7hf. a mile N of Codnor-Park r. station, and 3½ SE of Alfreton.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This area was from 1837 part of the Basford registration district

Church records

Ironville parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Ironville Christ Church (1852) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's NONE
  NONE
1901-1912
  NONE
1912-1912
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241292.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Belper Poor Law Union, Derbyshire Basford Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Ironville (see Riddings) on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Date accessed: 29 June 2103.