Isanti County, Minnesota Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Isanti County, Minnesota)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Minnesota Gotoarrow.png Isanti County

Guide to Isanti County, Minnesota ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Isanti County, Minnesota
Map
Map of Minnesota highlighting Isanti County
Location in the state of Minnesota
Map of the U.S. highlighting Minnesota
Location of Minnesota in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 13, 1857
County Seat Cambridge
Courthouse
Address Isanti County Courthouse
555 18th Ave SW
Cambridge, MN 55008
Phone: 763.689.1191
Isanti County Website


County Information

Isanti County, Minnesota Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1873 1871 1873 1850 1857 1868

County Courthouse


Clerk District Court has birth records from 1869,
marriage rec from 1871, death records from 1873,
burial records 1900-1908 and 1941-1979,
divorce and court records from 1872 and probate
records from 1892.
County Recorder has land records. [2]

History

Parent County

  • 1857--Isanti County was created 13 February 1857 from Ramsey County.  County seat: Cambridge [3]
  • For a brief history of how Isanti County was named, click here, then select Isanti County.

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

2011 About 70 percent of archives in the historical society building were destroyed by fire. Destroyed documents include church records, family histories, cemetery records, 1800s plat maps.

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Cities

Braham | Cambridge | Isanti

Townships

Athens Township | Bradford Township | Cambridge Township | Dalbo Township | Isanti Township | Maple Ridge Township | North Branch Township | Oxford Township | Spencer Brook Township | Springvale Township | Stanchfield Township | Stanford Township | Wyanett Township

Unincorporated Communities

Andree | Athens | Blomford | Bodum | Bradford | Carmody | Crown | Dalbo | Day | Edgewood | Elm Park | Grandy | Oxlip | Pine Brook | Spencer Brook | Springvale | Stanley | Stanchfield | Stanford | Walbo | Weber | West Point | Wyanett

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Census

State Census

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Minnesota Church Records.


Court

Land

The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

Land records for Minnesota are listed in the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:

MINNESOTA, Isanti – LAND AND PROPERTY


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Isanti County, Minnesota Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.

Maps

Mnisanti.jpg

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Isanti County, Minnesota Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.


Online Probate Records

Taxation

Minnesota tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota State Registrar of Vital Records, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred], order electronically online ($) or download an application for Minnesota Birth Certificate and Death Certificates Applications to mail.

See also Minnesota Vital Records or How to order Minnesota Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Birth
Marriage
Death


Societies and Libraries

Isanti County Historical Society
P.O. Box 525
Isanti 55008

Isanti County Historical Society
Address: 33525 Flanders St NE
Cambridge, MN 55008
Phone:(763) 689-4229
Website

Central Minnesota Historical Center
Centennial Hall, Room 148
St. Cloud University, St. Cloud, MN 56301
Website

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Web Sites

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 385-403. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Isanti County, Minnesota page 364, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).