Isle of Man Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Isle of Man)
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.png Isle of Man

Isle of Man Wiki Topics
Beginning Research
Record Types
Isle of Man Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to Isle of Man ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information

The Isle of Man (Manx: Ellan Vannin), or simply Mann (Manx: Mannin), is a self-governing Crown dependency, located in the Irish Sea between Ireland, Scotland, England and Wales. The official languages of the Isle of Man are Manx Gaelic and English although, by the middle of the twentieth century only a few elderly native Manx speakers remained.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Isle of Man Research

Links to articles on getting started with Isle of Man research.

Isle of Man Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Isle of Man research.

{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Isle of Man Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in the Isle of Man.

BrideAndreasJurbyBallaughLezayreMaugholdMichaelLonanGermanMarownBraddanBraddanOnchanPatrickRushenArboryMalewSantonIsle of Man Sheadings and Parishes.png
About this image


Genealogy records are kept on the local level in the Isle of Man. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.



English Name Manx Name
Douglas Doolish
Ramsey Rhumsaa
Peel Purt ny h-Inshey
Laxey Laksaa
Port Erin Purt Çhiarn
Casteltown Balley Chashtal

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.


  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Isle of Man," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,, accessed 28 April 2016.