Jönköping: Mellby parish, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwedenGotoarrow.pngJönköping County Gotoarrow.pngMellby parish


Guide to Mellby parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Back to Sweden

History

Prior to 1927 also known as Medelby

(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)
Jönköping: Mellby
Jurisdictions
Stift Linköping
Pastorat add here
Län Jönköping
Landskap Småland
Härad Södra Vedbo
Tingslag add here
Domsaga add here
Fögderi 1720-1945 Norra and Södra Vedbo, 1946 - Eksjö
Länsmansdistrikt add here
Kronofogdedistrikt add here
Kommun 1863-1951 Mellby, 1951-1970 Höreda, 1971- Eksjö
Militär indelning Smålands Husar-Regemente
Hvetlanda Sqvadron, Hvetlanda Kompani
Kalmare Regemente
Vedbo Härads Kompani
FamilySearch I.D. 6372675
NAD Ref Code SE/VALA/00246


Place Names 

Allmänningen, Andersbo, Aspelund,

Baggamåla, Benås, Björnskog, Björnåsa, Boaryd, boda, Boholm, Bäckåsen,

Dammen, Djurstorp Värneslätt, Djurstorp Lilla Söraby Norrgård, Dämparp,

Ekholmen, Elmhult (Älmhult), Engelholm (Ängelholm), Engelund (Ängelund),

Fattigstugan Mellby, Fridholm, Fällan,

Grangslösa (Gagnslösa), Gastorp, Glinghester Rusthåll, Gangslösa (Gagnslösa), Gastorp, Glinghester Rusthåll, Granhult, Granstorp, Grönlund, Gyamåsa, Gåsarp,

Hagagården Mellby, Hagelund, Hammar, Hammarstugan, Hultsjö,

Hylte Rusthåll # 72, Högarp,

Johannisberg, Johanstorp Björnåsa, Johanstorp Hammar,

Karlberg, Karlsbo, Katrinelund Mellby Hagagård, Katrinelund Äspefall, Klockaregården Mellby, Klockelund, Kongsholm, Kongstorp, Kvarnen Mölarp, Kvarnen Värne, Kättarp Rusthåll,

Lerket, Lillemo, Ljungby, Ljungholmen, Lyckem Lönnholmen,

Mellangården Mellby,

Mellby (Melby) Fattigstuga, Hagagård, Klockaregård, Mellangård, Sockenstuga, Södergård,

Mogård, Måsekulla (Måskull), Måsekullastugan (Måskullstugan), Måstorp, Mölarp, Mölarp Kvarn,

Norrby, Norrgården Söraby, Nybygget Björnåsa, Nybygget Mölarp, Nybygget Söraby Norrgård, Nydala, Nyängen,

Olsmässan,

Perstorp Björnåsa, Perstorp Älmesås, Prästtorp (Prästorp),

Rosenholm, Rot,

Rusthållet: # 72 Hylte, Glinghester, Kättarp, Saxamåla, Skogsäng, Söraby Norrgård, Söraby Södergård, Ustorp, Ämmingarp,

Sandlid, Saxamåla Rusthåll, Sjöakull, Sjöholm, Skogsäng Rusthåll, Släthult, Slättö, Slättölund, Slättönäs, Smedholmen, Sockenstugan Mellby,

Soldattorp; # 22 Perstorp Björnåsa, # 67 Vimmenarp Gyamåsa, # 114 Lillemo Norrby, # 115 Gangslösa Äspenäs, # 116 Boda, # 119 Hammarstugan Hammar, # 121 Djurstorp Värneslätt, Lerket Mellby Klockaregård,

Stafälle, Svenarp, Svenljunga, Svenstorp, Södergården Mellby, Södergården Söraby, Söljö, Söraby Norrgård Rusthåll, Söraby Södergård Rusthåll, Sörarp, Sörarp Lilla,

Udden, Urnan, Ustorp Rusthåll,

Vakten, Vimmenarp, Väktarestugan, Värne Kvarn, Värneslätt,

Åkerslund,

Älmesås, Älmhult (Elmhult), Ämhagen, Ämmingarp (Ämingarp) Rusthåll, Ängelholm (Engelholm), Ängelund (Engelund), Äspefall, Äspenäs,

Öbo, Ödegärde, Ödesås.


Sweden 1951 Place Names Register and the Swedish Parish Pages list in this Wiki will give you searchable lists of places, particularly parishes and the farms within those parishes.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Jönköping Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be viewed on loan at a Family History Center near you. Click on "Places within Sweden, Jönköping" and then select your parish.

Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies

References 

Jurisdictional Information from: Riksarkivet. "Mellby Församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). June 2012 http://www.nad.riksarkivet.se/

Mellby Parish, Husförhörslängd 1836-1845 AI;5, Ort register.