Jackson County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Jackson County, Arkansas)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Jackson County

Guide to Jackson County, Arkansas ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records


Jackson County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Jackson County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 5, 1829
County Seat Newport
Courthouse
ArkansasJacksonCourthouse.jpg
Address Jackson County Courthouse
208 Main Street
Newport, AR 7212
Phone: 870.523.7420




County Courthouse

Jackson County Courthouse
208 Main Street
Newport, AR 7212
Phone: 870.523.7420

County Clerk has marriage records from 1843 and probate records from 1845; Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records from 1845 and land records.[1]

Beginning years for Jackson County, Arkansas Genealogy government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1843 1914* 1845 1845 1845
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Government and Related Websites

County Government and other Local Websites
County-clerk.net (unofficial site) Clerks have jurisdiction over birth certificates, death certificates, marriage licenses, land use, land rights, real estate, and other court records. Site provides links to unofficial websites with online records
PublicRecords.com (unofficial site) Provides links to County officials and public records

History

Andrew Jackson.JPG

The county is named after President Andrew Jackson (1767-1845).[3]

Parent County

  • 1829--Jackson County was created 5 November 1829 from Independence County. 
    County seat: Newport [4]

Boundary Changes

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Craighead  • Cross  • Independence  • Lawrence  • Poinsett  • White  • Woodruff

Jackson CountyWoodruff CountyPrairie CountyWhite CountyCleburne CountyIndependence CountyIzard CountySharp CountyLawrence CountyGreene CountyCraighead CountyPoinsett CountyCross CountySt. Francis CountyCrittenden CountyMonroe CountyLonoke CountyPulaski CountyStone CountyRandolph CountyARJackson.JPG


History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Jackson County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [5]

  • 1760-1800 - French and Spanish trappers hunted in what would become Jackson County.
  • 1822 - Early explorer Obediah Cartwright and his Indian guide, Leauteau, explored what would later be known as Jack’s Creek at the future town of Jacksonport.
  • 1829 November 5 - Jackson County was created.
  • 1829 - Because no towns existed in Jackson County, the first county seat was at the house of early pioneer Thomas Wideman, the house being about centrally located in the county.
  • 1930-2010 - The population of Jackson County hit its high mark in 1930 (27,900) and has gone down to a present (2010) count of 17,900.

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Online Jackson County, Arkansas cemeteries
from state and national resources
Search for names of people
in Jackson County
Get a list of cemeteries
(then click to names of people)
Find printed records
(Often more complete)
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, enter a name, click "Search"
  • Billion Graves Enter a name and click "Search" (Statewide. Can search by county, but many with no results.)
  • Find A Grave Click Search for a Cemetery on the right, click All Countries - click United States, click State, click County and search.
  • ARGenWeb Under construction - no cemeteries listed under the tab.

More cemetery lists

Census

Church Records

Court

Guardianship

  • Probate Records 1830-1945 Jackson County portion of the collection: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration and guardian dockets 1879-1887; Administration bonds 1846-1861; Administration bonds and letters 1858-1913; County Court records 1830-1843 and 1858-1862; Dockets 1850-1882; Executor records 1863-1945; Guardian bonds and letters 1885-1898 and 1920; Probate case files 1835-1890; Probate records 1836-1886; Wills 1845-1928.

Genealogy

Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Revolutionary War
  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Arkansas, Jackson County on page 191.]
Civil War
- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company G
- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Colquitt's) (Confederate)
- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Mounted Rifles (Confederate)[6], Company D
- 2nd Regiment, Arkansas Volunteers (Confederate), Company A
- 7th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)[7]
- 31st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)[8], Companies A, B and H
- 45th Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate) [9]
- Ford's Battalion, Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate), Company C
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Union)[10], Companies G and I

Online Records

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Jackson County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Occupations

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Online Tax Records

Tax Records on Microfilm

Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Jackson County, Arkansas Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. For towns, click here.
WorldCat Click an item for libraries near you. For more information, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Located in Indiana, they are heavily involved in digitizing much of their collection.
Arkansas History Commission Select the county Arkansas state agency involved in organizing, digitizing, and maintaining the records of state and local history.
Local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries may suggest other catalogs

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
ARGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Jackson County, Arkansas Genealogy
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records


Social networking sites pertaining to Jackson County, Arkansas Genealogy
genealogy.com Jackson County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Jackson County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 68.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. "List of counties in Arkansas," Wikipedia.
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Robert D. Craig, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=778&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent= : accessed January 13, 2016), “Jackson County.”
  6. Desmond Walls Allen, First Arkansas Confederate Mounted Rifles, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1988), p. 2. FHL book 976.7 M2a
  7. Desmond Walls Allen, The Seventh Arkansas Confederate Infantry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1988) FHL book 976.7 M22adw
  8. Ronald R. Bass, History of the Thirty-first Arkansas Confederate Infantry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1996), p. 12 FHL book 976.7 M2ba
  9. Desmond Walls Allen, Forty-fifth Arkansas Confederate Calvary, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1988), p. 1. FHL book 976.7 M2af
  10. Desmond Walls Allen, Third Arkansas Union Cavalry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1987), p. 33-92. FHL book 976.7 M28dc
  11. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0d/Igiarkansasem.pdf.
  12. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki.