Jackson County, Kansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Jackson County, Kansas)
Jump to: navigation, search

United StatesGotoarrow.png Kansas Gotoarrow.png Jackson County

Guide to Jackson County, Kansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Holton
Organized: August 30, 1855
Parent County(s): Original county[1]
Neighboring Counties
Atchison  • Brown  • Jefferson  • Nemaha  • Pottawatomie  • Shawnee
See County Maps
Courthouse
KansasJacksonCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
200px-Map of Kansas highlighting Jackson County svg.bmp
Adoption
This page is available for adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for Andrew Jackson. The County has Holton as its seat and the County was created February 11, 1859. The County is located in the northeast area of the state.[2]


One image

Andrew Jackson

The county is named after President Andrew Jackson (1767-1845).[3]

County Courthouse

Jackson County Courthouse
400 New York Ave.
Holton, Kansas 66436-1791
Phone: 785.364.2891
Jackson County Website


County Clerk has birth and death records from 1903-1911.
Probate Judge has marriage records from 1867,
Probate records from 1857 and court records from 1900.
Clerk District Court has divorce records.
Register of Deeds has land records from 1858. [4]

Jackson County, Kansas Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1892 1855 1892 1858 1857

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1855--Calhoun County was created 30 August 1855 as an original county.
  • 1859--Name changed to Jackson County 11 Feb 1859.
  • County seat: Holton[6]

Populated Places

The following are locations in Jackson County, Kansas:

Indian Reservation

The Potawatomi Indian Reservation is located within the boundaries of Jackson County.

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Jackson County, Kansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Kansas Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

Kansas Territory was enumerated in 1860, although there were 15 counties that were marked with "no population" in them. [7] See links listed below.

State Census

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Kansas Church Records.


Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kansas Land and Property for additional information about early Kansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Jackson County, Kansas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Kansas Local Histories.


Maps and Gazetteers

Ksjackson.jpg

Migration

Military Records

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Jackson County, Kansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Kansas, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Kansas, Jackson and click Probate records.


Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Kansas tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Kansas Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Kansas Office of Vital Statistics or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Kansas Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Jackson County Museum
327 New York
Holton, KS 66436
Telephone Number: 785-364-2087 or 785-364-4991
E-mail:jacohistsoc@gmail.com
Website

Societies

Jackson County Historical Society
216 New York Avenue
Holton 66436

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Jackson, Kansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jackson_County,_Kansas" 8/15/2017.
  3. "List of counties in Kansas," Wikipedia.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Jackson County, Kansas page 251, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 232-245. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  6. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  7. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 119.