Jackson County, West Virginia Genealogy
Guide to Jackson County, West Virginia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Jackson County, West Virginia|
Location in the state of West Virginia
Location of West Virginia in the U.S.
|Founded||March 1, 1831|
|Address|| Jackson County Courthouse|
P O Box 800
Ripley, WV 25271
Jackson County Website
- 1 County Courthouse
- 2 County Information
- 3 History
- 4 Places / Localities
- 4.1 Populated Places
- 4.2 Neighboring Counties
- 4.3 Resources
- 4.3.1 Census
- 4.3.2 Cemeteries
- 4.3.3 Church
- 4.3.4 Court
- 4.3.5 Land
- 4.3.6 Local Histories
- 4.3.7 Maps
- 4.3.8 Military
- 4.3.9 Naturalization
- 4.3.10 Newspapers
- 4.3.11 Probate
- 4.3.12 Taxation
- 4.3.13 Vital Records
- 5 Societies and Libraries
- 6 Web Sites
- 7 References
County Clerk has birth and death from 1853
Land records from early 1800's
Probate Records 1861
Military records from 1918
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records
Jackson County, West Virginia Record Dates
- Jackson County history : the journal of the Jackson County, West Virginia, Historical Society
- Welcome to Jackson County, West Virginia
- Jackson County History
- Hardesty's Historical and Geographical Encyclopedia...Special History of the Virginias..1883.
- Jackson County, West Virginia, past and present Jackson County Genealogical Society 1990.
- Jackson County, West Virginia, past and present, 1990 Jackson County Historical Society 1997.
From Early Settlers of Jackson County by O. J. Morrison:
- William Hannamon, Benjamin Cox, and James McDade were the first known English settlers in Jackson County, moving into the Mill Creek area in May 1796. The first two built homes and took up permanent residence in the county. McDade served as an Indian scout, traveling the banks of the Ohio River, with his only companion, a faithful dog, at his side. It was said that his sole ambition in life was to alert some poor traveler of the presence of Indians and preventing them from becoming a victim of what he viewed were murderous savages.
- In the month of May, 1796, William Hannamon, Benjamin Cox and James McDade reared their cabins within the present limits of Union District, and were thus the first to establish civilized homes in what is now Jackson County. The first two became actual settlers and began to fell the forest and cultivate the soil. McDade, who was a soldier in the service of Virginia, selected a site for his future home, but continued to discharge the duties assigned him-that of Indian scout-and many days and nights did he spend in the dreary wilderness between the mouths of the Great and Little Kanawha Rivers, watching to catch a glimpse of the savage foe on the shore of the Old Northwest Territory beyond the Ohio. Jackson County was created in 1831, from parts of Mason, Kanawha and Wood, in compliance with an act of the General Assembly of Virginia, passed March 1st of that year, and named in honor of the hero of New Orleans, who was at that time President of the United States. The present area of the county is 400 square miles.
From Hardesty's History of Jackson County, Page 2:
- Wayne's treaty with the Indians in 1795, forever put an end to savage warfare in the Ohio valley. The storm had spent its force and died away, and hundreds of pioneers now found homes on the banks of the Ohio. Among those who sought a dwelling place within the present limits of Jackson county were Samuel McDade, and John Hannamon, both of whom came in 1796. Then followed Charles Parsons, Samuel Tanner, John Greathouse, Elijah Staats, Jacob Starcher, Isaac McKown, John McKown, Joel Buffington, who settled on Buffington's island; John Ingles, Joshua Freehart and Joel Dewey, who built the block-house at the mouth of Pond Creek; John Coleman, who was killed by Indians near where the town of Cottageville now stands; Joseph Hall, James Hydes, Isaac Hydes, George Hydes, John Brown, Benjamin Wright, and A. W. Alkire.
- From the formation of Mason county in 1804 to the year 1831. Jackson was a part of Mason and Wood, but in the latter year the old pioneers, wearied with long jaunts to court at Point Pleasant or Parkersburg, court circulated which was numerously signed and sent to Richmond, where it was laid before the general assembly, then in session in that city. The prayer was heard with favor, and in 1831 Jackson county named in honor of Andrew Jackson, then president of the United States-was checkered upon the map of Virginia.
For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities
Ravenswood | Ripley
Advent | Cottageville | Evans | Flatwoods | Gay | Given | Independence | Kenna | Kentuck | LeRoy | Millwood | Mount Alto | Murraysville | Rock Castle | Sandyville | Sherman
Cemeteries of Jackson County, WV
Find A Grave Jackson County, WV
Jackson County, Obituaries
Cemeteries Jackson County Tombstone Photos
Political Graveyard Jackson County West Virginia
Ravenswood Cemetery, Ravenswood, Jackson County, West Virginia
- Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Book 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Western District, Jackson County on pages 134-135.]
- Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes veterans from this county; Virginia section begins on page 238.]
Regiments. Service men in Jackson County, West Virginia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Jackson County, West Virginia Genealogy:
- - 3rd Regiment, Virginia State Line (Cavalry and Infantry) (Confederate). Companies B, C, and D.
- - 10th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (1st Cavalry Regiment, Wise Legion (Confederate). Company G (The Jackson Rangers).
- - 14th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company N (Night Hawk Rangers).
- - 19th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company C.
- - 22nd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (1st Kanawha Regiment). Company F (Border Rifles).
- - 26th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company D and Company F.
Records and histories are available, including:
- West Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865
- Jackson Countians in the Civil War
- 1861 - 1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861 - 1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
World War I
World War II
Online Probate Records
- 1724 - 1978 West Virginia Wills and Probate Records 1724-1978 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1756 - 1971 West Virginia Will Books 1756-1971 at [https:/familysearch.org/ FamilySearch] — index and images
Jackson County, West Virginia Will Books 1831 - 1967
West Virginia Will Books
Online West Virginia Tax site
West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.
Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.
The search for tax information can start here
- West Virginia Vital Records - Birth - Death - Marriages. See also How to order West Virginia Vital Records or order electronically online.
. Includes marriages 1830-1968 - free.
Societies and Libraries
Jackson County Historical Society
P O Box 22
Ripley, WV 25271
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Jackson County, WV History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- West Virginia Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- West Virginia Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- Cyndi's List for West Virginia
- Families of Jackson County, West Virginia
- West Virginia Pioneers
- Hacker's Creek Pioneer Descendants, Inc
- Jackson County, West Virginia Wikipedia
- The Heritage of Jackson County
- History and Genealogy Jackson County, West Virginia
- Learning How to Edit our Wiki Sites
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Jackson County, West Virginia. Page 744 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Wikipedia contributors, "List of counties in West Virginia," in Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_counties_in_West_Virginia, accessed 14 February 2012.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Robert J. Driver, 10th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1992). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 87.
- Robert J. Driver, 14th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 47.
- Richard L. Armstrong, 19th and 20th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 101.
- Terry D. Lowry, 22nd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 44.
- Richard L. Armstrong, 26th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 110.
- Ronald R. Turner, 7th West Virginia Cavalry (Manassas, Va.: R.R. Turner, 1989). Digital version at Raleigh County West Virginia GenWeb; FHL Book 975.4 M2t.