Jamaica Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Jamaica)
Jump to: navigation, search

Caribbean Gotoarrow.png Jamaica

Jamaica Wiki Topics
Flag of Jamaica.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Jamaica Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to Jamaica ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Country Information

Jamaica is an island country in the Caribbean whose closest neighbors are Cuba, Haiti, and the Dominican Republic. It was formerly a colony of Spain and Great Britain. The official language is English.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Jamaica Research

Links to articles on getting started with Jamaica research.

Jamaica Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Jamaica research.

{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Jamaica Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Jamaica.

Map of the parishes of Jamaica

Jurisdictions

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Jamaica. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.

Parishes are Jamaica’s fundamental civil administrative unit. Parishes in Jamaica's three counties:

Cornwall County

Middlesex County

Surrey County

Additional Parishes

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Jamaica," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jamaica, accessed 28 April 2016.