Japan Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Japan)
Jump to: navigation, search

Asia Gotoarrow.png Japan

Japan Wiki Topics
Flag of Japan.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Japan Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to Japan ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Country Information

Japan is an island country in the Pacific Ocean off the coast of Asia. Its nearest neighbors are China, North Korea, South Korea, Russia, and Taiwain. While there is no official language, Japanese is the national language.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Japan Research

Links to articles on getting started with Japan research.

Japan Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Japan research.

{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Japan Clickable Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Japan. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.

Hokkaidō RegionTōhoku RegionKantō RegionChūbu RegionKansai RegionChūgoku RegionShikoku RegionKyūshū RegionKyūshū RegionHokkaidō RegionTōhoku RegionKantō RegionChūbu RegionKansai RegionChūgoku RegionShikoku RegionKyūshū RegionJapan.prefectures.png

Jurisdictions

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Japan. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.

Japan is divided into a number of areas called Prefectures. These are analogous to states or provinces in other countries. They were created after the Meiji Restoration (1868) by consolidating feudal domains.[2] Some include a city by the same name within their boundaries.

Regions

Prefectures

Cities, Towns, and Villages

Within each prefecture is a number of cities, towns and villages, The larger cities are very populous, while many towns and villages are quite small and often can border each other in a way that they are at times considered part of a larger city. Most though have some space between them.

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.


References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Japan," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Japan, accessed 28 April 2016.
  2. Wikipedia Contributors, "Meiji Restoration," Wikipedia, accessed 15 June 2011.