Jasper County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Jasper County, Georgia)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Georgia
Jasper County

Guide to Jasper County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Jasper County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Jasper County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded December 10, 1807
County Seat Monticello
Courthouse
Address Jasper County Courthouse
Courthouse on the Square
Monticello, GA 31064
Phone: 706.468.4901
Jasper County Website


County Information

Jasper County, Georgia Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Jasper County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate

1808

1810
1808
1809


County Courthouse

Jasper County Courthouse
Courthouse on the Square
Monticello, GA 31064
Phone: 706.468.4901

Clerk Superior Court has land records from 1808, divorce, military and court records from 1900[1]

Clerk of Superior Court
126 W. Greene Street, Suite 110
Monticello, GA 31064
Telephone: (706) 468-4901
Fax: (706) 468-4946

Probate Court of Jasper County
126 W. Greene St. Suite 111
Monticello, GA 31064
Work Phone: 706-468-4903
Fax: 706-468-4926

History

Monument to William Jasper at Savannah, Georgia
The county is named after Sergeant William Jasper (c1750-1779).[2]

Parent County

1807--Jasper County was created 10 December 1807 from Baldwin County. Formerly Randolph County, name changed to Jasper County in 1812.  County seat: Monticello [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.[4]

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Butts County  • Jones County  • Monroe County  • Morgan County  • Newton County  • Putnam County

Jasper CountyButts CountySpalding CountyHenry CountyDeKalb CountyRockdale CountyNewton CountyWalton CountyMorgan CountyGreene CountyOconee CountyOglethorpe CountyHancock CountyPutnam CountyBaldwin CountyWilkinson CountyTwiggs CountyJones CountyBibb CountyCrawford CountyMonroe CountyLamar CountyGAJasper.JPG


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
GAGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
GAGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Billion Graves
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Methodist
  • 1878-1924 - Methodist Church Baptism Index 1878-1924. Batch C713111 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
  • 1878-1924 - Methodist Church Marriage Index 1878-1924. Batch M713111 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
  • 1878-1924 - Methodist Church Burial Index 1878-1924. Batch B394956 at FamilySearch - free.
Presbyterian
  • 1829-1905 - Presbyterian Church Baptism Index 1829-1905. Batch C713121 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
  • 1829-1905 - Presbyterian Church Marriage Index 1829-1905. Batch M713121 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
  • 1829-1905 - Presbyterian Church Burial Index 1829-1905. Batch B394955 at FamilySearch - free.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Jasper County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps

Gajasper.jpg

Military

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Jasper County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Jasper County, Georgia Genealogy:

- 4th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company G
- 14th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company C
- 32nd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company A
- 44th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company B
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project


  • McElroy, J. 1900. Jasper County, Georgia, confederate volunteers: Company B, 44th Georgia Regiment, March 17, 1862. San Antonio, Texas: Family Adventures. (entire book) 975.8583 M2m
  • Carnes, Marcia Hayes, John P. Harvey, and Irene Roberts Malone. 1984. History of Jasper County, Georgia. Roswell, GA: WH Wolfe Associates. (page 47-53) 975.8583 H2h digital version
  • Anderson, Mary Ann. 1995. Cen-Silver celebration: the 125th anniversary of the founding of Hazlehurst, Georgia, a town at the crossroads. S.l: s.n.]. (page 130-139) 975.8827/H1 H2c digital version
  • Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Jasper County). 1957. Confederate veteran pension rolls abt. 1897-1906; Minutes & records of Confederate Veteran Associations, abt. 1894-1933; Muster rolls of comp A, 32nd. Reg & comp C, 16th Bat. Cal; Disabled & indigent Confederates peddler's license, & salesman's oaths, etc. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah.film 158477


Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Jasper County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

  • 1797-1819 - Wills, Appraisements, Bills of Sale, Annual Returns, Book C, 1797-1819 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers $
  • 1813-1817 - Wills, Appraisements, Bills of Sale, Annual Returns, Book 1, 1813-1817 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers $
  • 1813-1820 - Wills, Appraisements, Bills of Sale, Annual Returns, Book 2, 1813-1820 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers $
  • 1821-1823 - Wills, Appraisements, Bills of Sale, Annual Returns, Book 3, 1821-1823 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers $
  • 1822-1823 - Wills, Appraisements, Bills of Sale, Annaul Returns, Book 4, 1822-1823 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers $
  • 1824-1833 - Wills, Appraisements, Bills of Sale, Annual Returns, Book 5, 1824-1833 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers $
  • 1828-1829 - Wills, Appraisements, Bills of Sale, Annual Returns, Book 9, 1828-1829 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers $
  • 1830-1839 - Wills, Appraisements, Bills of Sale, Annual Returns, Book 10, 1830-1839 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers $

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Marriage Records
Death Records
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Jasper County, Georgia. Page 157 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. "William Jasper," Wikipedia.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 37-38. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  5. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/57/Igigeorgiael.pdf.