Jefferson County, Oregon Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Jefferson County, Oregon)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Oregon Gotoarrow.png Jefferson County

Guide to Jefferson County, Oregon ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Jefferson County, Oregon
Map
Map of Oregon highlighting Jefferson County
Location in the state of Oregon
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oregon
Location of Oregon in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 12, 1914
County Seat Madras
Courthouse
Address Jefferson County Courthouse
75 SE C Street
Madras, Or 97741-1709
Phone: 541-475-4451
Jefferson County Website



County Information

Jefferson County, Oregon Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1886 1882 1920 1864 1883

County Courthouse

County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate and land records from 1914. [1]

Jefferson County Government

County Records Inventory listing the records held at the Jefferson County Court House as of July 2011.

Jefferson County Court is structured differently. Check the County Records Inventory link for addresses for location of records (left column).

Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs maintain separate government.

  • Culver was the county seat 1914 to 1916
  • Record Loss:

Historical Facts

Named for Mount Jefferson, located on west boundary. It was named in turn for Thomas Jefferson, third president of the United States of America by Lewis and Clark Expedition.

Trivia Tidbits: Little biographic bits associated with the names of non-population localities.

Parent County

12 Decembr 1914: Created from Crook County. [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Cities

Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.

Culver | Madras | Metolius

Communities

Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.

Ashwood | Camp Sherman | Horse Heaven | Warm Springs

Trivia Tidbits

Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. > Trivia Tidbits

Indian Reservation

Warm Springs (Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs)

Neighboring Counties

Crook | Deschutes | Linn | Marion | Wasco | Wheeler

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
ORGenWeb Archives WorldCat Billion Graves
Tombstone Project
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Oregon Cemeteries for more information.

Census

  • 1920
  • 1930

Church History and Records

Court Records

Gazetteers

History

Land and Property

Maps

Orjefferson.jpg

Military History and Records

Civil War

Newspapers

Probate Records

Online Records

Rivers and Waterways

Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. >> Rivers and Waterways

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.

Birth

Societies, Libraries and Museums

Jefferson County Historical Society
PO Box 647
Madras, OR 97741
Telephone: 541-475-5390
Website

Jefferson County Museum and Historical Society
34 SE "D" Street
Madras, OR 97741

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

Jefferson County Oregon Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Jefferson County, Oregon page 573, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. WorldCat 50140092; FHL Collection Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)