Jefferson County, Wisconsin Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Jefferson County, Wisconsin)
Jump to: navigation, search

Guide to Jefferson County Wisconsin ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Wisconsin Gotoarrow.png Jefferson County


Jefferson County, Wisconsin
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Founded December 7, 1836
County Seat Jefferson
Jefferson County Courthouse
320 S Main Street
Jefferson, WI 53549-1718
Phone. 920.674.7140

WI Jefferson.png

County Information

Jefferson County, Wisconsin Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1852 1844 1840 1838 1836

County Courthouse

Jefferson County Courthouse
320 S Main Street
Jefferson, WI 53549-1718
Phone. 920.674.7140

Register of Deeds has birth and marriage records from 1850,
death record from 1840 and land records from 1838;
Clerk of Circuit Courts has divorce records from 1851
and court records from 1843;
Register in Probate has probate records from 1840 [1]

Historical Facts

Parent County

1836--Jefferson County was created 7 December 1836 from Milwaukee County.  County seat: Jefferson [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Dane  • Dodge  • Rock  • Walworth  • Waukesha



Bible Records




  • 1855 - 1855 Wisconsin State Census This census includes name of head of family; other individuals in the household are identified by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.
  • 1865 - 1865 Wisconsin State Census Name index and images of the 1865 State Census which names the head of household. Most records have been destroyed but schedules exist for the following counties: Dunn, Green, Jackson, Kewaunee, Ozaukee, and Sheboygan.
  • 1875 - 1875 Wisconsin State Census Identifies head of household by name.
  • 1885 - Wisconsin State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — index and images. Search indexed census.  Identifies by name of head of household.  Other information is statistical and identifies the rest of the household by race, gender and country of birth.
  • 1895 - Wisconsin State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — index and images. Identifies head of household by name. Other information is statistical.
  • 1905 - Wisconsin State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — Name index and images of population. Enumerates by name all inhabitants.

Church History and Records

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Johnson Creek, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at ($).

Court Records

Crime and Criminals


Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups





Land and Property

  • Wisconsin Land Patents Database, Jefferson County (USGenWeb Archives)



Military History and Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Jefferson County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Jefferson County.

- 1st Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Companies E, I and L
- 3rd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Companies D, E and K
- 11th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company C
- 13th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Companies H and I

Naturalization and Citizenship


For Dodge and Jefferson counties, order newspaper clippings from Dodge/Jefferson Counties Genealogical Society



Probate Records

Online Records


See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries and Museums
County Courthouse
Family History Centers
  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Bark River Woods Historical Society
W4080 St Rd 106
Fort Atkinson, WI 53538-9681
Telephone: 920-563-4773

Concord Historical Society, Inc.
PO Box 561
Watertown, WI 53094

Palmyra Historical Society
Main & Third Streets
PO Box 265
Palmyra, WI 53156-0265
Telephone: 262-495-4245 or 262-495-2412

Other Historical Societies


Vital Records

Birth Records
Marriage Records
Divorce Records
Death Records

Voting Registers

Web Sites


  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 757 Lafayette County, Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002). Cite error: Invalid <ref> tag; name "Handybook" defined multiple times with different content