Jersey Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Jersey)
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.png Channel Islands Gotoarrow.png Jersey

Jersey Wiki Topics
Flag of Jersey.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Jersey Background
Local Research Resources


Guide to Jersey ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information

Jersey is a British Crown dependency Europe off the coast of France. Together with the Bailiwick of Guernsey it forms the Channel Islands. The official languages are English and French.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Jersey Research

Links to articles on getting started with Jersey research.

Jersey Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Jersey research.

{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Jersey Clickable Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Jersey. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.

The parishes of Jersey

Jurisdictions

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Jersey. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.

As well as the main island of Jersey, it includes the nearly uninhabited islands of the Minquiers, Écréhous, the Pierres de Lecq and other rocks and reefs.

Jersey is divided into twelve parishes. All have access to the sea and most are named after saints to whom their ancient parish churches are dedicated:

These parishes are further divided into vingtaines (or, in the case of St. Ouen, cueillettes).

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.


References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Jersey," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jersey, accessed 27 April 2016.