Johnson County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Johnson County, Arkansas)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Johnson County
Fall by the Mulberry River Johnson County, Arkansas

Guide to Johnson County, Arkansas ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.



Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records




Johnson County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Johnson County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 16, 1833
County Seat Clarksville
Courthouse
ArkansasJohnsonCourthouse.jpg
Address Johnson County Courthouse
215 W Main Street PO Box 57;
Clarksville, AR 72830
Phone: 501.754.3967



County Courthouse

Johnson County Courthouse
215 W Main Street PO Box 57;
Clarksville, AR 72830
Phone: 501.754.3967

Record Availability

  • County Clerk has marriage records from 1855 and probate records from 1844.
  • Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, court and land records
  • Extension office has burial records[1]
Beginning years for Johnson County, Arkansas Genealogy government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1855 1914* 1841 1836 1844
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Government and Related Websites

County Government and other Local Websites
County-clerk.net (unofficial site) Clerks have jurisdiction over birth certificates, death certificates, marriage licenses, land use, land rights, real estate, and other court records. Site provides links to unofficial websites with online records
PublicRecords.com (unofficial site) Provides links to County officials and public records

History

Parent County

  • 1833--Johnson County was created 16 November 1833 from Pope County. County seat: Clarksville [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Variant Spellings

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Click a town to see what records are listed in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

  • Clarksville — County Seat
  • Coal Hill
  • Gillian Settlement — unincorporated
  • Hagarville
  • Hartman
  • Hickeytown — unincorporated
  • Hunt — unincorporated
  • Knoxville
  • Lamar
  • Oark — unincorporated
  • Ozone — unincorporated
  • Pittsburg — unincorporated

Townships

  • Batson Township
  • Dickerson-Hill Township
  • Grant Township
  • Hickey Township
  • Horsehead Township
  • Howell Township
  • Lee Township
  • Low Gap Township
  • McKennon Township
  • Mulberry Township
  • Perry Township
  • Pittsburg Township
  • Prairie Township
  • Red Lick Township
  • Sherman Township
  • Spadra Township
  • Stonewall Township
  • Ward Township

Neighboring Counties

Franklin  • Lonoke  • Madison  • Newton  • Pope

Johnson CountyPope CountyYell CountyLogan CountyFranklin CountyMadison CountyNewton CountySearcy CountyVan Buren CountyConway CountyPerry CountyScott CountySebastian CountyCrawford CountyWashington CountyBenton CountyCarroll CountyBoone CountyMarion CountyARJohnson.JPG


History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Johnson County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [4]

  • 1700-1730s - .Early white settlers started arriving , first by keel boat and later by steamboat; many were likely illegal squatters, who were a constant source of annoyance and complaint to the Cherokee.
  • 1833 November 16 - Johnson County was created.
  • 1920-2010 - The population of Johnson County hit a peak of just over 21,000 in 1920. It then took a dive to just 12,400 in 1960 but has rebounded to 25,500 in 2010.

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Online Johnson County, Arkansas cemeteries
from state and national resources
Search for names of people
in Johnson County
Get a list of cemeteries
(then click to names of people)
Find printed records
(Often more complete)
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, enter a name, and click "Search"
  • Billion Graves Enter a name and click "Search" (Statewide. Can search by county, but many with no results.)
  • ARGenWeb Select a county, then "Cemeteries." Some overlap with USGenWeb.

More cemetery lists

Census

Church Records

Court

Guardianship

Genealogy

Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

  • Langford, Ella Molloy. History of Johnson County, Arkansas : the first hundred years. Clarksville, Arkansas : Johnson County Historical Society (Georgia), 1976, 1981.

Maps

Military

Revolutionary War
  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Arkansas, Johnson County on page 191.]
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Collection 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes veterans from this county; Arkansas section begins on page 439.]
Civil War
- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Mounted Rifles (Confederate), Company C
- 16th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company A, B and C
- 26th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company H
- 35th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company I
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Union)[5], Companies D, E, and I

Online Records

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Johnson County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Occupations

Periodicals

  • Johnson County Historical Society Journal published by Johnson County Historical Society.

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth
  • 1861 - Johnson County Birth Index 1861. Batch C586522 at FamilySearch - free.
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Libraries

Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Johnson County, Arkansas Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. For towns, click here.
WorldCat Click an item for libraries near you. For more information, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Located in Indiana, they are heavily involved in digitizing much of their collection.
Arkansas History Commission Select the county Arkansas state agency involved in organizing, digitizing, and maintaining the records of state and local history.
Local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries may suggest other catalogs

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Societies

  • Johnson County Historical Society operates the Heritage Center and Museum at 131 West Main Street, Clarksville and publishes Johnson County Historical Society Journal.
    • "Among the research materials available at the center are clipping files with data on county families and communities from county newspapers; ... databases of burials in Johnson, Crawford, and Franklin counties...."[8]

Websites

Sites with online indexes or images of records
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
ARGenWeb for Johnson County Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
RootsWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Johnson County, Arkansas Genealogy
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Social networking sites pertaining to Johnson County, Arkansas Genealogy
genealogy.com Johnson County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Johnson County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 68.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Jennifer S. Koenig, The Encyclopedia of Johnson History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=780&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent= : accessed January 13, 2016), “Johnson County.”
  5. Desmond Walls Allen, Third Arkansas Union Cavalry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1987), p. 33-92. FHL book 976.7 M28dc
  6. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki.
  7. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0d/Igiarkansasem.pdf.
  8. Johnson County Historical Society by Greta Marlow at the Encyclopedia of History and Culture.