Jondal, Hordaland, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Jondal, Norway)
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.png Norway Gotoarrow.pngHordaland County Gotoarrow.pngJondal

Guide to Jondal, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Church Records

see Strandebarm

Census Records

See Strandebarm for earlier census records and links to microfilm images.

Court Records

Land Records

Farm Books

Kolltveit, Olav,Jondal i gamal og ny tid, Jondal : Utgjevi ved Jondal bygdeboknemnd, 1953. A history of Jondal in Hordaland county and a genealogy of the people and their farms. FHL 948.32/J1 H2k A farm name index to this book is found in the following link. File:948.32-J1 H2k - JONDAL.pdf

Losnegård, Gaute, 1970-: Jondal kommune: gards- og slektssoge: Farm and family histories in Jondal Community, Hordaland co., Norway. FHL 948.32/J1 D2

Kolltveit, Olav, 1895-1979: Jondal i gamal og ny tid:

Innhold: del 1. Bygdesoga -- del. 2. Gards- og ættesoga.

A history of Jondal in Hordaland county and a genealogy of the people and their farms. FHL 948.32/J1 H2

Farm Names

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:

40 Aase indre 41 Augestad 20 Baggegaarden 9 Bakke 35 Belsnes 46 Berge indre 26 Birkeland 17 Brattebø 29 Brekke indre 42 Drage 21 Drebrekke 25 Eide 38 Eide 8 Eiken 24 Espeland 18 Flatebø 37 Gangdal 1 Grimsdalen 27 Guntveit 48 Halleraaker 23 Handegaard 12 Haugen 49 Heradstveit 13 Hæreiane 16 Kopren 19 Kvaale 39 Kvitestein 43 Lysen 22 Molven 36 Myren 2 Mælen 28 Præstegaard 15 Saalesnes 5 Samland 1 Samleneset 14 Selsvik 13 Svaasand 32 Sætveit 3 Sæverhagen 47 Tofte 36 Torsnes 7 Traa nedre 44 Tveit 10 Tveit i Herandsbygden 45 Tørviken 30 Underhaugen 4 Vassel 11 Vik indre 31 Vik ytre 33 Vikene indre 36 Øijorden

For a larger list of farm names, click here, then click on the link: https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/File:948.32-J1_H2k_-_JONDAL.pdf

Genealogy

Måge, Knut L.: Brattabø-slekta på Bleie: A genealogy of the Brattabø and Bleie families from the farms Brattabø in Jondal and Bleie in Vikebygd in Hordaland county, Norway. This is a reprint of an article in the Hardanger Historielags periodical for 1956. FHL 929.2481 B615 To view a digital version click here

Galtung, Johan Ellertsen, 1872-1953; Galtung, L. F. (Laurits Fredrik), 1901-1983: Galtungslekten i fortidd og nutid: A genealogy and a history of the Galtung family from Jondal in Hordaland county in Norway. Includes several articles from the "Norsk Slektshistorisk Tidsskrift", "Ætt og Heim " 1950 and "Hardanger" 1950 concerning the family history. FHL 929.2481 G139. To view a digital version click here

Storaas, Alfred: Herandsholmen, ein minnekrans om min barndomsheim. A genealogy of the Lars Torstenson Storaas (1847-1925) and Aagaata Asbjornsdtr Alvsaaker (1855-1943) family from Herandsholmen in Jondal parish in Strandebarm clerical district in Hordaland county. FHL 929.2481 St74. To view a digital version click here

Hausberg, Sverre: Ætti til riksråd Ole Monsson Mjelde, fødd 1865, død 1942.

Mjelde historie med genealogi etter Ole Monsson Mjelde.

History of Mjelde, Norway and central Hordaland through the family of Ole Monsson Mjelde. FHL 948.32/M5 D2

Probate Records

1695-1881: Records are found in Hardanger og Voss judicial district.

References

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names