Jones County, North Carolina Genealogy
Guide to Jones County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Jones County, North Carolina|
Location in the state of North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
- 1 County Courthouse
- 2 History
- 3 Places/Localities
- 4 Resources
- 4.1 General
- 4.2 African American
- 4.3 Bibles
- 4.4 Cemeteries
- 4.5 Census
- 4.6 Church
- 4.7 Court
- 4.8 Directories
- 4.9 Education
- 4.10 Land
- 4.11 Local Histories
- 4.12 Maps and Gazetteers
- 4.13 Migration
- 4.14 Military
- 4.15 Native American
- 4.16 Newspapers
- 4.17 Probate
- 4.18 Schools
- 4.19 Taxation
- 4.20 Vital Records
- 5 Societies and Libraries
- 6 Web Sites
- 7 References
Jones County Courthouse
P O Box 189
Trenton NC 28585
Courthouse burned 1862
Register of Deeds has birth and death records from 1913
marriage records from 1850, land records from 1779
and military discharge records; Clerk Court has probate records from 1779,
Court and divorce records
Jones County was created from Craven Count 14 Apr 1778
Register of Deeds
P.O. Box 189
Trenton, NC 28585
Clerk Superior Court
P.O. Box 280
Trenton, NC 28585
Phone: (252) 448-6220
Jones County, North Carolina was established in 1778 or 1779 (sources differ). The county was named after Willie Jones, who was a planter, slave owner, and Revolutionary War figure.
The county seat is Trenton.
For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
1862--Courthouse was burned during Civil War battle, many court records destroyed. See Jones County list of extant records (NC GenWeb).
- Chadwick, Combs Fort, Comfort, Debruhls Landing, Hargetts Crossroads, Jones Corner, Maysville, Oak Grove, Olivers, Olivers Crossroads, Perfection, Phillips Crossroads, Pleasant Hill, Pollocks, Pollocksville, Ravenswood, Sassers Mill, Shady Grove, Simmons Corner, Taylors Corner, Tenmile Fork, Trenton, Wise Forks
- Jones County Post Offices (USPS)
- Jones County (NC GenWeb; a list of both original and microfilmed records that are extant)
- Freedman Bank Records -- individuals from Jones County
- Book: Jones County Cemeteries: Jones County, North Carolina. Compiled by the Heritage Genealogical Society, 2005. – 3 volume set. View the Volume 1 index.
- Cemeteries, Jones County, North Carolina (links and resources, Jones County GenWeb)
- Cemeteries, Jones County, North Carolina (transcriptions, US GenWeb Archives)
- Find-A-Grave - Jones County Cemeteries
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|North Carolina Cemeteries|
|See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information.|
For tips on accessing Jones County, North Carolina Genealogy census records online, see: North Carolina Census.
- 1790 U.S. Census, Jones County, North Carolina (transcription, US GenWeb)
- 1810 U.S. Census, Jones County, North Carolina (images, US GenWeb Archives)
- 1850 U.S. Census, Jones County, North Carolina (surname index only, US GenWeb Archives)
- Census records - Jones County, NCGenWeb
- Jones County Church Records (US GenWeb Archives)
- Chinquepin Chapel. Established 1781.
- Trent. Established by 1761.
- Tuckahoe. Tuckahoe Baptist Church Records, 1865-1873 (Jones County GenWeb)
- White Oak. Constituted 1795.
- Pleasant Hill Christian Church Records, 1858-1896 (Jones County GenWeb)
- North Carolina Business Directories -- directories provide information on area residents. Open the directory and navigate to the county of interest.
- Jones County students at NC colleges (NCGenWeb Yearbook Index)
- Aiken, Nancy, Minutes of the Jones County, North Carolina Court of Common Pleas and Quarter Sessions, 1826-1841, Heritage Books, 2002. (Google Books link without preview)
- Gwynn, Zae Hargett, Abstracts of the Records of Jones County, North Carolina, 1779-1868, Vol. 1, self-published, 1963. (Google Books link without preview) (information in Genealogy.com)
Maps and Gazetteers
- 1895 map, Jones County (1895 U.S. Atlas)
- Jones County (historical maps in North Carolina Maps)
- Maps (Jones County, NCGenWeb)
- Map of Jones and Adjacent Counties (Jones County Economic Development Commission)
- USGS Gazetteer: Jones County
Early migration routes to and from Jones County for European settlers included:
- 1861-1865 - North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1861-1865 - North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1885-1953 - North Carolina, Confederate Soldiers and Widows Pension Applications, 1885-1953 at FamilySearch — images
Civil War Confederate units - Brief history, counties where recruited, etc.
- -2nd Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- - 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company G
:- 8th Battalion, North Carolina Cavalry (Partisan Rangers), 1st Company
:- 8th Battalion, North Carolina Cavalry (Partisan Rangers), 3rd Comppany
- The Tuscarora Indians (scroll down to bottom of page)
- Jones County newspapers (List from the Library of Congress of newspapers that have been published in the county. Provides details on libraries that hold back issues.)
- Jones County, North Carolina Obituaries (Newspaper Obituaries)
- Jones County Post (current paper, part of the Kinston Free Press)
Online Probate Records
- 1660 – 1790 North Carolina Will Abstracts 1660-1790 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1663 - 1979 North Carolina Estate Files 1663-1979 at FamilySearch.org — images
- 1665 - 1998 North Carolina Wills and Probate Records 1665-1998 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1760 - 1964 Jones County North Carolina list of will book testators SAMPUBCO - Browsable index of testators of wills. - Free
- 1760 - 1964 North Carolina Probate Records 1760-1964 at FamilySearch.org — images
- 1760 – 1800 North Carolina Will Abstracts 1760-1800 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- Pre-1790 - Pre-1790 Jones County, North Carolina Genealogy Wills stored at the North Carolina State Archives are online - free. Website tips.
- Jones County Index to Estate Records (Jones County GenWeb)
- Jones County Individual Wills (Jones County GenWeb)
- Jones County Wills and Estates (US GenWeb Archives)
- 1816 Tax Delinquents, Fourth Collection District of North Carolina (New Bern-Craven Public Library)
- Jones County Tax Lists (NCGenWeb Archives)
Uncertified copies of birth, marriage and death certificates can be ordered for 25 cents each from the Jones County Register of Deeds. See their website for more information.
- 1800 - 2000 North Carolina Birth Index 1800-2000 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1866 - 1964 North Carolina Births and Christenings 1866-1964 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1851-1964 - Jones County Marriage Index 1851-1964 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.
- Jones County Marriage Records (GenWed)
- 1741-2004 - North Carolina Marriage Index 1741-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1759-1979 - North Carolina Marriages 1759-1979 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1762–1979 - North Carolina, County Marriages, 1762-1979 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1763-1868 - North Carolina, Civil Marriages, 1763-1868 at FamilySearch — index and images
- North Carolina Death Certificates, 1906-1930 - via FamilySearch; images included
- North Carolina Deaths & Burials, 1898-1994 - via FamilySearch
- 1898 - 1994North Carolina Deaths 1906-1930 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1908 - 2004 North Carolina Death Indexes 1908-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1909-1975 North Carolina Death Certificates 1909-1975 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1931 - 1994North Carolina Deaths 1931-1994 at FamilySearch.org — index
Societies and Libraries
Heritage Genealogical Society
PO Box 6204
Kinston, NC 28501
- Neuse Regional Library, Kinston, North Carolina ("serving Lenoir, Greene & Jones Counties")
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Jones County, NC History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Genealogy Inc)
- County History (Jones County Gov't)
- FamilySearch Catalog
- A History of Jones County
- Jones County Genealogy (North Carolina Genealogy)
- Jones County Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Jones County, NC (RootsWeb)
- Jones County, NCGenWeb (free genealogy resources; part of the USGenWeb Project)
- Jones County, North Carolina (ePodunk)
- Jones County, North Carolina (Wikipedia)
- Jones County, North Carolina Genealogy Trails
- Jones County, North Carolina Register of Deeds | Genealogy Page
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:305, 315. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
- Lemuel Burkitt and Jesse Read, A Concise History of the Kehukee Baptist Association: From Its Original Rise Down to 1808 (1808), Chapter 16. Digital version at archive.org.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 847-61. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002) WorldCat entry., and William E. Myer, Indian Trails of the Southeast. (Nashville, Tenn.: Blue and Gray Press, 1971), 12-14, and the book's pocket map "The Trail System of the Southeastern United States in the early Colonial Period" (1923). (FHL Book 970.1 M992i) WorldCat entry.
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/9/91/Iginorthcarolinag.pdf.