Jonesboro Georgia Family History Center

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
FamilySearch This article describes the services and resources available at a Family History Center, a branch facility of the Family History Library.


Center Contacts and Hours

Location Map:

Address:

  • 2100 Lake Jodeco Rd Jonesboro GA 30236-5238 United States
  • Language:English

Phone:

  • 1-770-477-5985

E-mail:

  • GA_Jonesboro@ldsmail.net

Open Hours:

  • Monday open for Missionaries
  • Wednesday : 5:30P - 8:30P
  • Thuresday: 5:30P - 8:30P'
  • If you need access at other times, contact a Family History Consultant in the Jonesboro Ward, Phone: (404) 471-8721

Holiday Schedule:

Closed all major holidays:


Calendar and Events

Upcoming Events:

Class Schedule


Planning a Visit

Our FHC is staffed by local volunteers who can help get you started with family history research. They can guide you in using FHC resources and equipment. If you're planning a visit to our center to begin your genealogy, write down what you know about the family you wish to research -- names, dates, and places -- and choose a research goal. This will help our volunteers to best assist you. Please call to calendar and confirm group visits in advance.

Online film/ ordering is currently available in our area! You are now able to search the FamilySearch Catalog found at FamilySearch.org AND place your order online from home at:

www.familysearch.org/films

You will receive an e-mail or phone call from us when the film has arrived on loan in our FHC for your use.Center Resources


Collections

  • FamilySearch
  • (List additional collections you have such as the types of books and microfilm you have on indefinite loan; though you will not want to list every single item you have. Just give visitors to this page a general idea of your resources.)

Databases and Software

  • FHC Portal This center has access to the Family History Center Portal page which gives free access in the center only to premium family history websites that generally charge for subscriptions, including:
  • 19th Century British Library Newspaper Digital Archive •Access Newspaper Archive -- the largest historical newspaper database online, contains tens of millions of newspaper pages from 1753 to present. Every newspaper in the archive is fully searchable by keyword and date, making it easy for you to quickly explore historical content. All 50 states plus 10 countries.
  • Alexander Street Press - The American Civil War: Research Database Letters and Diaries Images, Photographs, Posters, and Ephemera
  • Ancestry.com
  • ArkivDigital Online -- Swedish genealogy. Launch from the 'ArkivDigital Online' Start Menu or Desktop icon from a computer where the program has been installed.
  • Find My Past -- 1.7 billion international family history records from the U.S., Canada, UK, Australia, New Zealand and beyond with records going back to 1200. New collections are added every month,
  • Fold3.com (Previously known as Footnote.com) -- Fold3 provides convenient access to US military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served.
  • Godfrey Memorial Library -- Online access to the Middletown CT historical library's approximately 200,000 books and periodicals in its collection which includes state and local histories, family histories, biographies, church records, funeral records, cemetery records, military records, maps, and more.
  • Heritage Quest Online -- a valuable genealogical resource available at this time only through library subscriptions like the Family History Center. U.S. Federal Census records from 1790 through 1930. (No index for 1830, 1840, 1850, nor 1880 census; for the 1930 census, only five states are indexed: Connecticut, Delaware, Maryland, Texas, and Virginia.) The online collection includes new indexes created by HeritageQuest. In addition to the ability to search by name, the census records can be searched by place of birth, age, ethnicity, and other variables. More than 25,000 fully searchable family and local history books. There are numerous other "non-history" books available that also have genealogy value, such as town and city directories, government reports made years ago, biographies, lectures, and much more. Selected Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty Land Warrant Application Files, again fully searchable with high-quality scanned images of the original applications available online. Signatures of and personal identification data about depositors in 29 branch offices of the Freedman's Savings and Trust Company, 1865-74. PERSI (the PERiodical Source Index - a comprehensive subject index covering more than 6,500 genealogy and local history periodicals written in English and French since 1800). Best of all, you can view the original records and book pages as high-quality images and even print individual pages on your local printer.
  • Historic Map Works Library Edition -- Historic Map Works™ Library Edition is one of the most extensive digital map collections available, with over 1.5 million high-resolution, full color historic maps.
  • Paper Trail -- a guide to overland pioneer names and documents.
  • World Vital Records -- Records from United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Chile, China, Cook Islands, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Fiji, Finland, Georgia, Greenland, Hong Kong, Hungary, India, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Lebanon, Mexico, Montserrat, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Poland, Puerto Rico, Romania, Russia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tonga, Turkey. ----

Hardware and Equipment

    • 6 desktop computers with FamilySearch internet access
    • Printers, Scanner, Copier
    • 2 microfiche readers
    • 4 overhead microfilm readers

Services

We encourage visitors to bring own their digital cameras for copying images from microfilm or microfiche Then you have your own digital record and can take the images home to clean them up on your imaging program! If the FHC camera is used, copies may be printed or files may be transferred to a jump drive using the XnView program found on the computer in the main office.

Memory sticks/jump drives can be used to download information from the microfilm scanner.

Patrons may bring their own laptops for note-taking or entering information into personal genealogical programs, with the disclaimer that the owner is responsible for the security of the device. Wireless internet is currently available in the building

.

With the advent of online microfilm ordering, we have done away with transactions in the FHC.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Resources in the Local Area

(This section is to highlight other resources in your area that will be helpful for individuals doing research there in your location, if there are any, such as government offices, historical societies, etc.)


Links

(Include links to other websites of interest to those who visit your center such as links to the city, county and state wiki pages where your center is located.)


Volunteer at the Center

We welcome volunteers from the community to serve in the Family History Center.  It's a great way to help others and to learn by doing.  You need not be an expert.  Ability to use a computer and willingness to become familiar with the FamilySearch website and resources are key.  Contact the FHC directors at the telephone or e-mail listed above for more information.