Juneau County, Wisconsin Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Juneau County, Wisconsin)
Jump to: navigation, search

Guide to Juneau County Wisconsin ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Wisconsin Gotoarrow.png Juneau County


{{{link}}}


Juneau County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded October 13, 1856
County Seat Mauston
Courthouse
Address
Juneau County
220 E State Street
Mauston, WI 53948;
Phone. 608.847.9300


WI Juneau.png

County Information

Juneau County, Wisconsin Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1877 1857 1860 1857 1860


County Courthouse


Juneau County Clerk
220 E State Street
Mauston, WI 53948;
Phone. 608.847.9300

Register of Deeds has birth, marriage and death records from 1880
and land records from 1854;
Clerk of Court has divorce and court records;
Register in Probate has probate records[1]


Historical Facts

Parent County

1856--Juneau County was created 13 October 1856 from Adams County. County seat: Mauston [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Adams  • Columbia  • Jackson  • Monroe  • Sauk  • Vernon  • Wood

WI JUNEAU.JPG

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Census

State Census
  • 1855 - 1855 Wisconsin State Census This census includes name of head of family; other individuals in the household are identified by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.
  • 1865 - 1865 Wisconsin State Census Name index and images of the 1865 State Census which names the head of household. Most records have been destroyed but schedules exist for the following counties: Dunn, Green, Jackson, Kewaunee, Ozaukee, and Sheboygan.
  • 1875 - 1875 Wisconsin State Census Identifies head of household by name.
  • 1885 - Wisconsin State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — index and images. Search indexed census.  Identifies by name of head of household.  Other information is statistical and identifies the rest of the household by race, gender and country of birth.
  • 1895 - Wisconsin State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — index and images. Identifies head of household by name. Other information is statistical.
  • 1905 - Wisconsin State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — Name index and images of population. Enumerates by name all inhabitants.
Federal Records

Church History and Records

Court Records

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Land and Property

Maps

Migration

Military History and Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Juneau County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Juneau County.

- 6th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company K
- 10th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Companies E and H

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Records

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries and Museums

Nelis R. Kampenga Archives and Area Research Center
University of Wisconsin Library
900 Reserve Street, Room 520
Stevens Point, WI 54481-1962
Phone: 715-346-2586
Website
Email: archives@uwsp.edu

County Courthouse
Family History Centers
  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Societies

Juneau County Historical Society
PO Box 321
Mauston, WI 53948
Phone: 608-462-5931
Email:[1]
website

Taxation

Vital Records

Birth Records
Marriage Records
Divorce Records
Death Records

Voting Registers

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 757 Juneau County, Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).