Kamas Utah Family History Center
|This article describes the services and resources available at a Family History Center, a branch facility of the Family History Library.|
The Kamas Utah Family History Center is located at 3038 N. Hwy 32, Marion, Utah. It serves the Kamas Utah Stake and anyone in the Peoa, Oakley, Marion, Kamas, Francis and Woodland areas. All community visitors are welcomed and encouraged to use the resources available.
- 1 Center Contacts and Hours
- 2 Calendar and Events: Upcoming Events
- 3 Center Resources
- 4 Center Services
- 5 Resources in the Local Area
- 6 Links
- 7 Volunteer at the Center
Center Contacts and Hours
- Location Map
- Entrance to the Family History Center is on the southeast side of the building. Schedule is posted on the door. The doorbell/intercom is located to the west of door.
- Press the button for someone to allow entrance.
Stake TFH Consultant - Center: Georgia Bates Home 435-783-4475 Cell 435-300-4475
- Stake TFH Consultant - Center Assistant :Robert A Bates
- Monday - Closed
- Tuesday - 10:00am.-2:00pm. & 4:00pm.-7:00pm.
- Wednesday - 10:00am.-12:00pm
- Thursday - 10:00am.-12:00pm., 12:00pm.-2:00pm. .
- 3rd Saturday - 10:00am.-12:00pm.
- We occasionally close unexpectedly because of inclement weather or illness.
- THE CENTER WILL BE CLOSED JUNE 1, 2015 - OCT. 2015 (estimated) THE STAKE CENTER IS UNDERGOING MAJOR RECONSTRUCTION.
- Please call for information about unexpected alterations to our normal operation hours.
Calendar and Events: Upcoming Events
Staff Training Meetings
- FamilySearch Catalog: This center has the ability to order any of the films and fiche available through the FamilySearch Catalog.
- (List additional collections you have such as the types of books and microfilm you have on indefinite loan; though you will not want to list every single item you have. Just give visitors to this page a general idea of your resources.)
Databases and Software
- Ancestry.com (Library version)
- Heritage Quest
- Godfrey Memorial Library
- US Civil War Research Database
- US Civil War Letters and Diaries
- Images of the American Civil War
- British Library 19th C Newspapers
- Pedigree Resource File
- Personal Ancestral File
- Family Insight
- Ancestral Quest
Description of some of the above databases
- Footnote ( www.footnote.com )
Footnote is a subscription-based website that features searchable,
original documents that provide users a view of the events, places and people
that shaped the American nation and the world. The site will have over 25
million digital images by the end of 2007. Footnote is currently working with
FamilySearch to index the American Revolutionary War Pension files. Additional
projects with FamilySearch are under development.
Individuals with Footnote subscriptions will be able to sign in with the
same Footnote username and password they use at home in order to save, annotate,
and upload content.
- Godfrey Memorial Library ( www.godfrey.org )
Godfrey Memorial Library has an extensive collection of essential
resources to assist genealogical and historical research. Resources include
newspapers, city and business directories, vital records, printed census
records, state, county, and local histories, as well as numerous family
histories, family bible records, and service and pension records.
- Heritage Quest/ProQuest ( www.heritagequestonline.com )
Heritage Quest online includes the complete set of U.S. Federal Census
images from 1790 to 1930 including names and indexes for many of the sets. Users
will be able to find people and places located in over 20,000 published family
and local histories and PERSI, an index of over 1.9 million genealogy and local
history articles. Other online databases include Revolutionary War Pension,
Bounty-Land Warrant Application files, and the Freedman Bank Records.
Access to this service will be limited to 1,400 family history centers in
North America. Patrons should contact their local family history center to see
if this service is available. Stake Temple and Family History Consultant - Center should contact
Family History Center Support with questions.
- World Vital Records ( www.worldvitalrecords.com )
World Vital Records provides access to research helps and has a wide
variety of international records, including more than 60 parish registers,
Scottish death records, UK marriages, and Irish prisoner records. There are more
than 300 newspapers with 100,000 pages added a month, and over 500 online
databases, including vital, military, land, pension records, reference
materials, family histories, maps, gazetteers, and international coops. With the
recent Quintin Publications partnership, World Vital Records will soon have more
than 10,000 databases online. At least one new database is added every business
Staff Research Specialties
Resources in the Local Area
(This section is to highlight other resources in your area that will be helpful for individuals doing research there in your location, if there are any, such as government offices, historical societies, etc.)
(Include links to other websites of interest to those who visit your center such as links to the city, county and state wiki pages where your center is located.)
Volunteer at the Center
Presently, we need several volunteers to complete staffing at the Center.