Kansas Genealogical Society

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

United States go to Kansas go to Ford Gotoarrow.png Archives and Libraries go to Kansas Genealogical Society

Kansas Genealogical Society
File:Insert building images here.jpg
Insert building images here.jpg

Contact Information

E-mail:[1]  kgslibrary@gmail.com

Address:[1]

Mail: PO Box 103
Street: Village Square Mall, 2601 Central Avenue
Dodge City, KS 67801

Telephone:[1]  620-225-1951

Hours and holidays:[1]  Wednesday-Friday 1:30 to 5:00; 1st and 3rd Saturday of each month 10:45 to 4:00; Closed: New Year's, Memorial, Independence, Labor, Thanksgiving days, and 2 weeks for Christmas.

Map and public transportation:

Internet sites and databases:

Collection Description

They have the best set of family folders and genealogical periodicals in Kansas.[2]. KGS subscribes to many periodicals and exchanges periodicals with over fifty societies. Also, clippings, obituaries, and an online catalog.

Mission:  KGS has established and maintains an extensive library holding more than 15,000 books and manuscripts; family genealogies, thousands of vital records, cemetery records and census records on hard copy, military, immigration, and Bible records, as well as microfilm, microfiche and computer databases. Our primary focus is on records of the State of Kansas, however, records, books and manuscripts of national and international interest are included.[3]

History:  The Kansas Genealogical Society, Inc. was formed as a nonprofit corporation in 1958, for the purpose of: Creating and fostering an interest in genealogy; preserving genealogical, biographical, historical and educational data relating to the ancestry of members and the founders of our country.[3]

Tips

  • The Kansas Genealogical Society Library (KGS) is co-located with the Kansas Society Daughters of the American Revolution Library (KSDAR), and KGS members are welcome to use KSDAR material.
  • Non-KGS-member library visitors, please donate $3.00 per day.

Alternate Repositories

If you cannot visit or find a source at the Kansas Genealogical Society, a similar source may be available at one of the following.

Overlapping Collections

  • National Archives I, Washington DC, census, pre-WWI military service & pensions, passenger lists, naturalizations, passports, bounty land, homesteads, ethnic sources, prisons, fed employees.[4]
  • National Archives at Kansas City federal censuses 1790–1930; military service indexes, pension indexes, passenger lists, naturalizations, photos, vital records, land, and Indian records.[5]
  • Family History Library, Salt Lake City, 450 computers, 3,400 databases, 2.5 million microforms, 4,500 periodicals, 310,000 books of worldwide family and local histories, censuses, civil, church, immigration, ethnic, military, and Mormon records.[6]
  • American Historical Society of Germans from Russia, Lincoln NE, AHSGR ancestor lists, cemeteries, homesteads, an AHSGR German hometowns list, passenger lists, obituaries, surname charts, and Russian village files.[7]
  • National Orphan Train Complex, Concordia, museum, history, rider registry, research, and events. 66 v. (20,000 records) of orphan train riders, photos, 9,700 name computer database.[8]

Similar Collections

  • Kansas Heritage Center, Dodge City, cowboys, oral history, Fort Dodge history, & the Old West.[2]
  • Kansas Historical Society, Topeka, clearly the best place to start researching Kansas ancestors including newspapers, county records, biographies, genealogies, land records, and railroads.[2] Statewide births and deaths prior to 1894; City of Topeka births and deaths 1885-1912.[9]
  • Topeka Genealogical Society Library, 12,000 books, 700 periodicals strong on Shawnee County and northeast Kansas. Also includes almost every U.S. state, and many foreign nations.[10]

Neighboring Collections

Sources

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 Visit Our Library in Kansas Genealogical Society (accessed 12 February 2016).
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 2.4 2.5 2.6 2.7 2.8 2.9 William Dollarhide, and Ronald A. Bremer, America's Best Genealogy Resource Centers (Bountiful, UT: Heritage Quest, 1988), 47. WorldCat 39493985; FHL Book 973 J54d. Cite error: Invalid <ref> tag; name "DB47" defined multiple times with different content
  3. 3.0 3.1 Welcome to our online library in Kansas Genealogical Society (accessed 12 February 2016).
  4. William Dollarhide, and Ronald A. Bremer, America's Best Genealogy Resource Centers (Bountiful, UT: Heritage Quest, 1988), 2. WorldCat 39493985; FHL Book 973 J54d.
  5. 5.0 5.1 Dollarhide and Bremer, 67.
  6. Dollarhide and Bremer, 1 and 109.
  7. Research Library in American Historical Society of Germans from Russia (accessed 3 February 2016).
  8. Amanda Wahlmeier, Orphan Train Research Center curator, orphantraindepot@gmail.com, 28 September 2012, e-mail to David Dilts, DiltsGD@familysearch.org.
  9. Births, Deaths, and Marriages in Shawnee County (accessed 8 February 2016).
  10. Topeka Genealogical Society Library in Topeka Genealogical Society (accessed 4 February 2016).
  11. 11.0 11.1 11.2 Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America (Draper, Utah : Everton Publishers, 1981), 104. WorldCat 866190599.
  12. 12.0 12.1 12.2 Alice Eichholz, ed., Ancestry's Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 235. Ancestry digital copy ($); WorldCat 55947869; FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  13. KDHE Office of Vital Statistics in Kansas Department of Health and Environment (accessed 4 February 2016).
  14. Midwest Genealogy Center in Mid-Continent Public Library (accessed 7 March 2014).
  15. Dollarhide and Bremer, 47 and 67.
  16. Special Collections in Kansas City Public Library (accessed 7 March 2014).