Kautokeino, Finnmark, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Kautokeino, Norway)
Jump to: navigation, search
Norway
Finnmark County
Kautokeino


Guide to Kautokeino, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Church Records

Microfilm of parish registers available at the Family History Library for Kautokeino prestegjeld (clerical district). Contains parish registers for Kautokeino clerical district. Separated from the combined Kistrand-Kautokeino clerical district in 1851. Was united with the parishes Kistrand, Kjelvik Kautokeino and Karasjok 1813-1851. Film 124232 book 6 contains migrating Lapp- landers of Karasjok, Kautokeino and Tana in Finnmark county, Norway; Muonionniska in Pajala, Norrbotten county, Sweden; and Inari, Enontekiö, Kittilä, Utsjoki, Outakoski in Utsjoki, Peltovuoma with Palojoki in Enontekiö all in Lappi county, Finland.  Records available from 1723-1916.  See also Kistrand. 

Digitized parish registers available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).  Kautokeino:  1723-1776, 1799, 1843-1861 , 1862-1877, 1862-18771862-1878 , 1877-1896 , 1913-1924 .  Kautokeino/Kautokeino1896-1916 

See also Kistrand

Census Records

  • Folketelling 1 Feb 1801, Norge.  The 1801 census for Kautokeino, Kistrand, Kjelvik, and Karasjok is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.  Also available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).


  • 1845 og 1855 folketelling for Kjelvik, Kautokeino og Karasjok i Kistrand prestegjeld (Finnmark).  The 1845 and 1855 census for Kautokeino, Karasjok, Kelvik, and Kistrand available on microfilm at the Family History Library





Court Records

Land Records

Farm Books

Kautokeinoslekter
Stmnt.Resp. Adolf Steen ; revidert og utvidet av Ola Aarseth
Authors: Steen, Adolf, 1906-1970 (Main Author)
Aarseth, Ola (Added Author)
Aarseth, Bjørn (Added Author)
Norsk folkemuseum (Added Author)

948.453/K2 D2s FHL INTL Book Available

Kautokeinoslekter is now available as a downloadable PDF file on the internet Kautokeinoslekter.


Befolkningen i Indre Finnmark på 1700-tallet : navn og tall
Stmnt.Resp. [Alf Strømstad og Kristian Fors]
Authors: Strømstad, Alf (Main Author)
Fors, Kristian (Added Author)

Call Number Location Availability High Density
948.453 D2sa FHL INTL Book Available

Farm and Name Register

The following names were extracted from: Steen, Adolf, Kautokeinoslekter, vol XIV, (Norsk Folkemuseum, Oslo: 1992):

Bals, Bongo, Buljo, Bær, Eira, Gaino, Gaup, Hætta, Kemi, Klokkerslekten (Luhkkàr-sohka), Korvatus, Lango, Logje, Mienna, Nango, Pentha, Pulk, Rist, Sara, Sikko, Siri, Sjudda, Skind, Skum, sokki, Somby, Spein, tornensis, Suri, Utsi, Vars

Additon: Beldovuobme, Boine, Bueng, Baal, Garro, Hans, Hermansen, Jatko, Juuso, Keskitalo, Kaafjord, Kurrak, Kuva, Leppäjärvi, Likke, Lindi, Luuso, Magga, Mokta, Muotkajärvi, Nicodemus, Nilimaa, Nakkala, Palojavre, Palopää, Punski, Qvænangen, reis, Trimf, vik, Øvergaard

New after 1986- Karsebm, Iksebm Øverli, Aarseth

Genealogy

Strømstad, Alf; Fors, Kristian: Befolkningen i Indre Finnmark på 1700-tallet: navn og tall. Genealogical information on families living in the inner Finnmark county, Norway. Information has been gathered from Swedish census records of 1741, clerical survey of 1750-1754 and tax lists of 1762.

FHL 948.453 D2

Steen, Adolf, 1906-1970; Aarseth, Ola; Aarseth, Bjørn; Norsk folkemuseum. Kautokeinoslekter. A genealogy and a history of the Lapplanders and their farms in Kautokeino, Finnmark, Norway

FHL 948.453 D2 (Samiske samlinger)

Probate Records

1686-1844: Records are found in Finnmark judicial district.

1839-1891: Records are found in Alta judicial district.