Kay County, Oklahoma Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Kay County, Oklahoma)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Oklahoma Gotoarrow.png Kay County

Kay County, Oklahoma
Map
Map of Oklahoma highlighting Kay County
Location in the state of Oklahoma
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oklahoma
Location of Oklahoma in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1893
County Seat Newkirk
Courthouse
OklahomaKayCourthouse.jpg
Address Kay County Courthouse
201 S. Main
P.O. Box 450
Newkirk, Oklahoma 74647
Phone: 580.362.2537


Kay County, Oklahoma genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.


{{{link}}}

County Information

Kay County, Oklahoma Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1908 1893 1900 1893 1893

County Courthouse

Kay County Courthouse
201 S. Main
Newkirk, Oklahoma 74647

Clerk Court has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1893; County Clerk has land records from 1983[1]

History

Parent County

1893--Kay County was created in 1893. It was an original county (Cherokee Outlet). Originally known as “K” County, it was part of the Cherokee Outlet and was formed after the famous Cherokee Strip Land Run of 1893.[2]


County seat: Newkirk [3]

Description

It is the only Oklahoma county keep its original territorial name. [4] Its county seat is Newkirk. Founded 1893. [5]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Land Records
Deed Index Grantee Record Book (1901-1910).[6]


Places/Localities

Kay County sites listed on the National Register of Historic Places

Big V Ranch House Blackwell Armory Blaine Stadium and Fieldhouse
Bryson Archeological Site Chilocco Indian Agricultural School Darr School of Aeronautics Hangar No. 3
Deer Creek Site Deer Creek Site Donahoe, Daniel J., House
Electric Park Pavilion First Presbyterian Church of Tonkawa Huston Elementary School
Jenkins, Gov. William W., Homestead Site Kaw City Depot Kaw Indian Agency
Kay County Courthouse Mahoney House and Garage Marland, E. W., Mansion
Marland, E. W., Mansion Marland-Paris House Newkirk Central Business District
Newkirk Water Purification Plant Nez Perce Reservation Northside Elementary School
One-hundred-and-one Ranch One-hundred-and-one Ranch Parkside Elementary School
Pioneer Woman Statue Poncan Theatre Soldani Mansion
Tipton, J.P., Farmstead Tonkawa Armory Tonkawa Lodge No. 157 A.F. A.M.
Washington Elementary School White Eagle Park


Kay County Historical Sites listed on USGS– This list contains mostly historical post offices.
Click on feature name in the list then use the GNIS Google Map feature to see map or satellite view of the location.

Populated Places [7]

  • Blackwell
  • Braman
  • Kaw City
  • Kildare
  • Nardin
  • Newkirk (county seat)
  • Ponca City (largest city) (partially in Osage county)
  • Tonkawa
  • White Eagle

Neighboring Counties

Resources

American Indians

Census

Land and Property

Cemeteries

Chilocco Indian School Cemetery

Chilocco Indian School Cemetery Photo
Grant for Chilocco Cemetery Article - This article states that about 70 children were buried here.

Kay County Cemeteries listed on Find-A-Grave

Banner Cemetery
Kildare
Blackwell Cemetery or IOOF Blackwell Cemetery 
Blackwell
Blaine Park Cemetery of Cross
Ponca City
Braman Cemetery
Braman
Brown Farm
Newkirk
Cales Cemetery
Kay County
Cooper Cemetery
Newkirk
Cowboy Hill Cemetery
Marland
Grand View Cemetery
or  Grandview Cemetery

Kaw City

IOOF Cemetery
or Odd Fellows Cemetery

Ponca City

IOOF Cemetery Tonkawa
or Tonkawa IOOF Cemetery

Tonkawa

Longwood Cemetery
Ponca City

Mount Olive Cemetery
Nardin

Nardin Cemetery
Nardin
Near White Eagle Monument
Ponca City
New Home Cemetery
Eddy
Newkirk Cemetery
Newkirk
Oak Grove Cemetery
Ponca City
Oak Grove Cemetery
Kay County
Otoe-Missouria Mothers Memorial
Ponca City

Plainview Cemetery
Newkirk
Ponca City Cemetery
Ponca City
Ponca Tribal Cemetery
Ponca City
Prairie Chapel Cemetery
Blackwell
Prairie View Cemetery
Tonkawa
Resthaven Memorial Park
Ponca City
Riverview or River View Cemetery
Alcorn
Rock Falls Cemetery
Braman
Round Grove Cemetery
Tonkawa
Saint Johns Cemetery
Blackwell
Saint Marys Catholic Cemetery
Ponca City
Sunset Memorial Gardens
Kay County
Sunset Memorial Park
Ponca City
Tonkawa Indian Cemetery at Fort Oakland
Tonkawa
Triumph Cemetery
Kay County
Washunga Cemetery
Kaw City
 
White Eagle Monument
Kay County
Wolf Creek Cemetery
Newkirk

Kay County Cemeteries listed on USGS – Click on feature name in the list then use the GNIS Google Map feature too see map or satellite view of the location.

Pioneer Genealogical Society Kay County Cemetery Index – This is an alphabetical name Index for interments in the Cemeteries which are available on CD from the Pioneer Genealogical Society.

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Tombstone Project
OKGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
USGenWeb Archives
Oklahoma Gravestones
Oklahoma Cemeteries
Billion Graves
See Oklahoma Cemeteries for more information.

Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Oklahoma denominations, view the Oklahoma Church Records Wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Blackwell

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1900 22,530
1910 26,999 19.8%
1920 34,907 29.3%
1930 50,186 43.8%
1940 47,084 −6.2%
1950 48,892 3.8%
1960 51,042 4.4%
1970 48,791 −4.4%
1980 49,852 2.2%
1990 48,056 −3.6%
2000 48,080 0.0%
2010 46,562 −3.2%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".
State Census Records
Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for Oklahoma starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Oklahoma Census. 1890 Oklahoma Territorial Census Search at the Oklahoma Historical Society Website

Dawes Rolls Search at the Oklahoma Historical Society Website

City Directories

Oklahoma State Historical Society has Smith's First Directory of Oklahoma Territory for the Year Commencing August 1, 1890, which provides information about the population of early Oklahoma. This transcribed index contains over 17,000 names. These are arranged alphabetically by surname and divided into three sections.”[8]
Surnames A-K »
Surnames L-Q »
Surnames R-Z »


1941-1942 Kay County Atlas on the Pioneer Genealogical Society Website

Court

Kay County Clerk’s Office
P.O. Box 450
Newkirk, OK 74647
Main Phone Line: 1-580-362-2537
Toll Free Line: 1-888-567-4611
Available Records: Miscellaneous records (such as petitions to incorporate cities/towns, election returns for 1902, etc.) court judgments, mechanic and materialmens liens, physicians and hospital liens, and UCC filings.

District Court Offices:

Kay County Courthouse
201 S. Main, 2nd floor
Newkirk, Oklahoma
Phone: (580) 362-3350

Federal Post Office Building
4th Grand, 2nd floor
Ponca City, Oklahoma
Phone (580) 762-2148

City Administration Building
2nd Blackwell Avenue
Blackwell, Oklahoma
Phone (580) 363-2080

On Demand Court Records – Search for Kay County court records online. Provides basic case information but no digital images are available.

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Oklahoma Land and Property for additional information about early Oklahoma land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Kay County land records began in 1893 with the original patents from the Oklahoma Land Run. Recordings have been kept daily since the Land Run, and are current to date.[9]

Kay County Clerk’s Office
P.O. Box 450
Newkirk, OK 74647
Main Phone Line: 1-580-362-2537
Toll Free Line: 1-888-567-4611
Available Records: Plats, deeds, patents, mortgages, surveys and other documents

Oklahoma Public Land Records Search - The data for Kay County is available from August 1995 to present. This will give you the grantor and grantee’s names, case number, the date of the instrument and the date of filing, the type of document, book and page number where the filing is recorded and often the legal description of the property. Digital images or prints from this system require a fee. A variety of subscription levels are available as well as solutions for one time access.


Bureau of Land Management Land Records Search

Oklahoma Historical Society Land Records Resources

Online Land Records

For more information see Oklahoma Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Kay County, Oklahoma Genealogy. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Oklahoma Local Histories.

Maps

Okkay.jpg

]1910 Kay County Maps at Historic Map Works

1971 Kay County Maps at Historic Map Works

Oklahoma Maps at Historic Map Works

Military

Kay County Clerk’s Office
P.O. Box 450
Newkirk, OK 74647
Main Phone Line: 1-580-362-2537
Toll Free Line: 1-888-567-4611
Available Records: Military discharge records beginning in 1917

Oklahoma Historical Society Military Records Resources

Revolutionary War
Civil War
WWI
WWII

Newspapers

Oklahoma Newspapers Online

Oklahoma Newspaper Catalogs

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Kay County, Oklahoma Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Blackwell Journal

Daily Oklahoman
Newkirk Herald
Ponca City News

Arkansas City Traveler (Arkansas City, Kansas) – Sometimes carries stories and articles from Kay County, especially in the early historical editions.

Oklahoma Historical Society Newspaper Article Search

Oklahoma Historical Society Newspaper Catalog Search

Obituaries

Pioneer Genealogical Society Kay County Obituary Index

Probate

Online Records

Although Oklahoma did not become a state until 1907, some Oklahoma Territorial and Indian Territorial probate records were kept at a county level beginning in 1893. Records are available from 1893 until present day.[10]

Kay County District Court Clerk
201 S. Main, 2nd floor
Newkirk, Oklahoma
Phone: (580) 362-3350
Business hours are Monday thru Friday from 8:00am to 4:30pm.

On Demand Court Records – Search for Kay County court records online. Provides basic case information but no digital images are available.


School Records

Taxation

Oklahoma tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Kay County Clerk’s Office
P.O. Box 450
Newkirk, OK 74647
Main Phone Line: 1-580-362-2537
Toll Free Line: 1-888-567-4611
Available Records: IRS and Oklahoma tax liens

Kay County Assessor
201 S Main
Newkirk, OK 74647
Phone: (580) 362-2565
Fax: (580) 362-3668

Online Property Search – This site may require a paid subscription for records access.

Vital Records

Birth

Online Birth Records Indexes and Images

  • Oklahoma State Department of Health
    1000 NE 10th Street
    Oklahoma City, OK 73117
    Phone: (405) 271.4040
    E-mail: AskVR@health.ok.gov
    Lobby Hours: 8:30 A.M. to 4:00 P.M. Monday - Friday with the exception of state recognized holidays
Marriage

Although Oklahoma did not become a state until 1907, some Oklahoma Territorial and Indian Territorial records were kept beginning about 1890. The marriage bonds, affidavits, licenses and certificates were kept at a county level, by or when the county was formed. However, one must keep in mind that these territorial marriages were sometimes not registered at all or they were registered at the county courthouses in adjoining states such as Arkansas, Kansas or Texas.[12]

The county began recording marriages at this time. Records are available from 1893 until present day and are in the form of scanned images of the original marriage registers. The county continues to hold all of the recorded marriage documents and none have been lost or destroyed by any manner. No official records are located offsite.[13]

Online Marriage Records Indexes and Images

Death

Online Death Records Indexes and Images

  • Oklahoma State Department of Health
    1000 NE 10th Street
    Oklahoma City, OK 73117
    Phone: (405) 271.4040
    E-mail: AskVR@health.ok.gov
    Lobby Hours: 8:30 A.M. to 4:00 P.M. Monday - Friday with the exception of state recognized holidays
Divorce

Online Divorce Records Indexes and Images

  • Kay County District Court Clerk
    201 S. Main, 2nd floor
    Newkirk, Oklahoma
    Phone: (580) 362-3350
    Business hours are Monday thru Friday from 8:00am to 4:30pm.
  • On Demand Court Records – Search *for Kay County court records online. Provides basic case information but no digital images are available.

Museums

Museums Listed on the Kay County Tourism Website

A.D. Buck Museum of Science &
History

Cann Memorial Botanical Gardens
Conoco Museum Heart in the Park Labyrinth
Kanza Museum Kaw City Museum
Marland's Grand Home Marland Mansion
McCarter Museum & Centennial Park Newkirk Community Historical Museum
Newkirk Heritage Center Osage Nation Heritage Trail
Pioneer Woman Statue & Museum Poncan Theatre
Standing Bear Park, Museum & Education Center Tonkawa Tribal Museum
Top of Oklahoma Historical Society Museum


Societies and Libraries

Pioneer Genealogical Society
PO BOx 1965
Ponca City, OK 74602
E-mail:queries@pgsok.org
Website




Libraries

Blackwell Public Library
123 W. Padon
Blackwell, OK 74647
Telephone: (580) 363-1809
J.A. Walker Memorial Library
900 Morgan Square
Kaw City, OK 74641
Telephone: (580) 269-2525
Newkirk Public Library
116 N. Maple Ave.
Newkirk, OK 74647
Telephone: (580) 362-3934
Ponca City Library
515 E. Grand
Ponca City, OK 74601
Telephone: (580) 767-0345
Tonkawa Public Library
216 N. 7th
Tonkawa, OK 74653
Telephone: (580) 628-3366


Arkansas City Public Library
120 E. 5th Avenue
Arkansas City, KS 67005
620-442-1280
arkcitypl @ acpl.org


Historical & Genealogical Societies

Pioneer Genealogical Society
Genealogy Room of the Ponca City Public Library
515 East Grand
Ponca City, Oklahoma

Oklahoma Historical Society
Oklahoma History Center
800 Nazih Zuhdi Drive
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
405-521-2491

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites

FamilySearch Catalog

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kay County, Oklahoma. Page 560 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, editor, FamilySearch Oklahoma Research Outline; PDF download (http://files.lib.byu.edu/family-history-library/research-outlines/US/Oklahoma.pdf : downloaded 21 January 2011), np.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. http://genealogytrails.com/oka/kay/ accessed 09/29/2016
  5. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kay_County,_Oklahoma accessed 09/29/2016
  6. Kay County Clerk’s Office, Newkirk, Oklahoma [(E-ADDRESS FOR PRIVATE USE),] to Wiki Editor, e-mail, 31 August 2011, "Records Information"; privately held by Wiki Editor [(E-ADDRESS), STREET ADDRESS FOR PRIVATE USE], Arkansas City, Kansas, 2011.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Kay County, Oklahoma," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kay_County,_Oklahoma, accessed 6 August 2016.
  8. Oklahoma State Historical Society, Smith's first directory of Oklahoma Territory for the year commencing August 1st, 1890 search, transcription database,Smith's Index(http://www.okhistory.org/research/smiths/index.php : accessed 20 October 2011).
  9. Kay County Clerk’s Office to Wiki Editor, e-mail, 31 August 2011.
  10. Kay County District Court Clerk’s Office, Newkirk, Oklahoma [(E-ADDRESS FOR PRIVATE USE),] to Wiki Editor, e-mail, 1 April 2011, "Probate Records"; privately held by Wiki Editor[(E-ADDRESS), STREET ADDRESS FOR PRIVATE USE], Arkansas City, Kansas, 2011.
  11. Kay County, Oklahoma, Kay County Clerk Homepage, responsibilities and records (http://www.courthouse.kay.ok.us/coclerk.html: accessed 20 October 2011), citing school records entry.
  12. Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, editor, FamilySearch Oklahoma Research Outline; PDF download(http://files.lib.byu.edu/family-history-library/research-outlines/US/Oklahoma.pdf : downloaded 21 January 2011), 11-12.
  13. Kay County Clerk’s Office, Newkirk, Oklahoma [(E-ADDRESS FOR PRIVATE USE),] to Wiki Editor, e-mail, 12 January 2011, "Marriage Records"; privately held by Wiki Editor [(E-ADDRESS), STREET ADDRESS FOR PRIVATE USE], Arkansas City, Kansas, 2011.