Kedington, Essex Genealogy and Suffolk

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Kedington, Essex)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes Gotoarrow.png Gotoarrow.png SuffolkGotoarrow.png Suffolk Parishes

Guide to Kedington, Essex and Suffolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Kedington, Essex and Suffolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hinckford; Risbridge
County Essex
Poor Law Union Risbridge
Registration District Risbridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1654
Bishop's Transcripts: 1564
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Clare
Diocese Pre-1837 - Norwich; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Sudbury
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

Kedington, or Ketton, is a village and a parish in Risbridge district; the village and most of the parish is in Suffolk, but part of it is in Essex. The village stands on the river Stour, 2 1/2 miles ENE of Haverhill railway station. The parish contains also Brockley Green, Great Wilseys, and the Risbridge workhouse.[1]

Also see.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Kedington is an Ancient Parish in the counties of Suffolk and Essex.

  • Parish Registers begin in 1654
  • Bishop Transcripts begin in 1564

Kedington, Essex Genealogy and Suffolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

1813 = Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) (findmypast) - (£)[3]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
FMP = findmypast - (£)[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[6]
Kedington, Essex Genealogy and Suffolk Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
1813

1813-1837


BOYD

1654-1837


FMP 1754-1900
NBI



1654-1900

Additional places included in this parish are Great Wilsey and Brockley Green.

Records for this parish in the FamilySearch Catalog.

Non-Conformist Churches

Particular Baptist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474641.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Kedington in Suffolk on GENUKI

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 640-643. Date accessed: 16 May 2014.
  2. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870). Adapted: date accessed 20 May 2013.
  3. 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 9 December 2013.
  4. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  5. 'Suffolk Baptism Index 1538-1911', Find My Past, accessed 5 January 2016.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.