Cellan, Ceredigion

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Kellan, Cardiganshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

WalesGotoarrow.pngCeredigionGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CardiganshireGotoarrow.pngCellan

A guide to genealogy in Cellan, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Cellan is a village and ecclesiastical parish in Ceredigion, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Cardiganshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Ceredigion.

History

CELLAN, a parish in the upper division of the hundred of MOYTHEN, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES 3 miles (E. N. E.) from Lampeter. This parish is situated in a mountainous district, on the banks of the river Teivy. The church, dedicated to All Saints, is an ancient edifice, consisting of a nave and chancel: it contains two piscinae ,and the font is supported on a square pillar, on which is carved the face of a male saint. There are places of worship for Independents and Presbyterians.[1]

For more information on Cellan see:

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Cardiganshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Ceredigion

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464304.


Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 238-241. Adapted. Date accessed: 17 January 2014.