Kelvedon Hatch, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Kelvedon Hatch, Essex)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes

Guide to Kelvedon Hatch, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Kelvedon Hatch, Essex
St Nicholas, Kelvedon Hatch, Essex .jpg
St Nicholas, Kelvedon Hatch, Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ongar
County Essex
Poor Law Union Ongar
Registration District Ongar
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1807
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lambourne
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

Kelvedon Hatch, is a parish in Ongar district, Essex; on the river Roding, 2 miles SE of Chipping Ongar railway station, and 5 miles NNW of Brentwood. A Roman Catholic chapel is attached to Kelvedon Hall. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Kelvedon Hatch, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[4]
KELVEDEN HATCH PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX
1560-1966
1560-1957
1559-1935
FREG 1695-1840
1695-1836
1695-1812
PRTS

1561-1665, 1669-1836


Non-Conformist Churches

Roman Catholic

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241374.


Poor Law Unions

Poor Law Unions

Ongar Poor Law Union, Essex

Vestry minute-books for Kelvedon Hatch survive for the periods 1736-60 and 1835-81.
In 1836 Kelvedon Hatch became part of the Ongar Poor Law Union. [5]

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Kelvedon Hatch on GENUKI

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales,(1870) Adapted: date accessed 20 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 11 September 2014.
  3. Essex Coverage in FreeReg, FreeREG, accessed 4 September 2014.
  4. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.
  5. From: 'Kelvedon Hatch: Parish government and poor relief', A History of the County of Essex: Volume 4: Ongar Hundred (1956), pp. 70-71. British History Date accessed: 06 February 2011.