Kennington St Mark, Surrey Genealogy
Guide to Kennington St Mark, Surrey ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Kennington St Mark, Surrey|
|Poor Law Union||Lambeth|
|Parish registers: 1825|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1825|
|Diocese||Pre-1845 - Winchester; Post-1844 - London|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Surrey|
|Location of Archive|
|Surrey Record Office|
Kennington.-- eccl. dists. (St James, St John, and St Mark), Lambeth par., Surrey, forming a S. suburb of London - pop., St James, 6395; St Mark, 13,951; St John (partly in Camberwell par.), 9394. See Kennington Division. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Marriages 1826-1839 M015571
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474653.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Surrey Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- St Mark's Kennington (official website). History, visitor directions, church schedule.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles. Adapted. Date accessed: 25 February 2014.
- 'Greater London Burials: South London Burials: Parishes, Period and Counts,' British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.