Kent County, Rhode Island Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Kent County, Rhode Island)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Rhode Island
Kent County

Guide to Kent County, Rhode Island ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

This article is about a county in the state of Rhode Island. For other uses, see Kent (disambiguation).


{{{link}}}


Kent County, Rhode Island
Map
Map of Rhode Island highlighting Kent County
Location in the state of Rhode Island
Facts
Founded June 11, 1759
County Seat
Courthouse
Named for: Kent, England


County Courthouse

Kent County Courthouse
222 Quaker Lane;
West Warwick, RI 02893
Phone: 401.841.835 

(Town and City Clerks have birth, marriage, death, burial, probate and land records
 
(Five twns in Kent Co) Towns Organized Before 1800; Coventry 1741, East Greenwich 1677, Warwick 1642-3, West Greenwich 1741

There is no county government. The government is located at town and state levels.

Quick Facts

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Kent_County, Rhode Island

Named for County of Kent, England.

Parent County

11 June 1759: Created from the Providence Plantations. [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Rhode Island County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Rhode Island County Boundary Maps" (1643-1963) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities


Resources

Archives and Libraries

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
RIGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
Tombstone Project
RIInterment
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Rhode Island Cemeteries for more information.

Census

For tips on accessing Kent County, Rhode Island Genealogy census records online, see: Rhode Island Census.

Church

Court

Land

History

Maps

Rikent.jpg

Military History and Records

Newspapers

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Rhode Island Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Rhode Island Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.

Societies, Libraries and Museums

Libraries

  • Rhode Island State Library,
    State House, 2nd floor,
    Providence, RI 02903
    Phone: (401) 222-2473
  • Rhode Island Historical Society Library,
    121 Hope Street,
    Providence, RI 02906
    TEL: (401) 273-8107
  • East Greenwich Free Library,
    82 Pierce Street East,
    Greenwich, RI 02818
  • Lincoln Public Library,
    Old River Road,
    Lincoln, RI 02865,
    Phone: (401) 333-2422
  • Louttit Memorial Library,
    274 Victory Highway,
    West Greenwich, RI 02817
    Phone: (401) 397-3434
  • Robert H Champlin Library,
    1043 Main Street,
    West Warwick, RI 02893,
    Phone: (401) 828-3750
  • Warwick Public Library,
    600 Sandy Lane,
    Warwick, RI 02886


Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].