Kenya Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Kenya)
Jump to: navigation, search

Africa Gotoarrow.png Kenya

Kenya Wiki Topics
Flag of Kenya.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Kenya Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to Kenya ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information

Kenya is a country in Africa bordered by Tanzania, Uganda, Sudan, Ethiopia, and Somalia.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Kenya Research

Links to articles on getting started with Kenya research.

Kenya Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Kenya research.

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Kenya Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Kenya. Kenya counties map.jpg

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.


Vital Records

Church Records

  • Anglican Cathedral at Mombasa licensed to perform marriages from 31 May 1905.
  • Roman Catholic Chapel of the Roman Catholic Mission of Our Lady of Victories at Lyoki, Kyambu district licensed for marriages before 12 January 1920.

Civil Registration

The British government recorded births, marriages and deaths in Africa 1895-1965. The records are at the National Archives in England, record class RG36. The records cover locations in Africa and Asia. The indexes include surname, forename, relation, year of event, type of event (birth, marriage or death), recordset (a TNA reference number). Indexes and images are available at BMDregisters.co.uk where a basic search may be done for free. The advanced search and access to record images require a fee.

Official Gazette of the East Africa Protectorate

Includes probate and administration information including death dates and relationships

1905 Jan Feb Mar April May June July Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec

1906 Jan Feb Mar April May June July Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec

1907 Jan Feb Mar April May June July Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec

1908 Jan Feb Mar April May June July Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec

1909 Jan Feb Mar April May June July Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec

1910 Jan Feb Mar April May June July Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec

1911 Jan Feb Mar April May June July Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec

1912 Jan Feb Mar April May June July Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec

1913 Jan Feb Mar April May June July Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec

1914 Jan Feb Mar April May June July Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec

1915 Jan Feb Mar April May June July Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec

1916 Jan Feb Mar April May June July Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec

1917 Jan Feb Mar April May June July Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec

1918 Jan Feb Mar April May June July Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec

1919 Jan Feb Mar April May June July Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec

1920 Jan Feb Mar April May June July Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec

East Africa Protectorate Colonial Reports

Archives and Libraries

Kenya National Archives and Documentation Service

University of Nairobi Library

Other Details

Jewish

  • 1904 the Nairobi Hebrew congregation was established
  • 1913 the first synagogue built
  • 1957 there were 165 families in the Jewish communities[2]

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Kenya," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kenya, accessed 27 April 2016.
  2. http://www.jewishvirtuallibrary.org/jsource/vjw/kenya.html viewed 26 Nov 2016