Kettlethorpe with Laughterton and Fenton, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Kettlethorpe with Laughterton and Fenton, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Kettlethorpe with Laughterton and Fenton, Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Well
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Gainsborough
Registration District Gainsborough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lawres
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1834 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Stow; Post-1833 - Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Parish History

KETTLETHORPE (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish, in the union of Gainsborough, wapentake of Well, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 9½ miles (W. N. W.) from Lincoln; containing, with the hamlet of Laughterton and the township of Fenton, 501 inhabitants.  There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives, St Rumbold Street,Lincoln,Lincolnshire,LN2 5AB,England Enquiries: The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Kettlethorpe Par 1 will identify available images.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Kettlethorpe with Laughterton andFenton

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438765.

See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Gainsborough Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 663-667. Date accessed: 26 August 2013.