Keyham, Leicestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Keyham, Leicestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.pngLeicestershireGotoarrow.png Leicestershire Parishes

Guide to Keyham, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Keyham, Leicestershire
All Saints Keyham Leicestershire.jpg
All Saints Keyham. Leicestershire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Goscote
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Billesdon
Registration District Billesdon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1563; For more records see Rothley
Bishop's Transcripts: 1616
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Akeley
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Manor of Rothley
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Parish History

KEYHAM, a chapelry, in the parish of Rothley,union of Billesdon, hundred of East Goscote, N. division of the county of Leicester. [1]

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Keyham like this:

KEYHAM, or KEAME, a township-chapelry in Rothley parish, Leicestershire; on an affluent of the river Soar, 5½ miles E by N of Leicester r. station.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Keyham, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.[2]
Keyham, Leicestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1564-1836
1564-1836
1564-1836

Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office

Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
E-mail: recordoffice@leics.gov.uk

Diocese of Leicester:Keyham Bap 1563 - 2003 Marr 1563 - 1836;1840-2005 (Banns to2006) Bur 1563 - 2006

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438743.


Poor Law Unions

Billesdon Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.',A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 663-667. Date accessed: 24 August 2012.
  2. 'Leicestershire Parish Registers', Parish Chest, accessed 27 January 2014.