Kibworth Harcourt, Leicestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png LeicestershireGotoarrow.png Leicestershire Parishes

Guide to Kibworth Harcourt, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Kibworth Harcourt, Leicestershire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Gartree
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Market Harborough
Registration District Market Harborough
Records begin
Parish registers: Not Known; For records see Kibworth Beauchamp
Bishop's Transcripts: 1595
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Gartree
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Parish History

KIBWORTH-HARCOURT, a chapelry, in the parish of Kibworth-Beauchamp, union of Market-Harborough, hundred of Gartree, S. division of the county of Leicester, 5½ miles (N. W. by N.) from Harborough, upon the road to Leicester. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438742.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 667-672. Date accessed: 21 August 2012.