Kilchberg parish, Zürich, Switzerland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Kilchberg parish

Guide to Kilchberg parish, Zürich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Geography

History

In 1898, Adliswil was established as an independent Protestant church parish.

Place Names

Locations within Kilchberg

Locations within the municipality of Adliswil are indicated by (A).

Adliswil (A)
Asphof (A)
Bernhof (A)
Büchel (A)
Bühl (A)
Buttenau (A)
Felsenhof (A)
Ghei
Gontenbach (A)
Grüt (A)
Hermen (A)
Hinterer Stieg (A)
Hofern (A)

Hotwiel (A)
Junker (A)
Kilchberg
Landolt (A)
Lebern (A)
Letten (A)
Löchli (A)
Moos (A)
Mühlematte (A)
Neugut (A)
Neuweid
Oberhaus (A)
Obere Lebern (A)

Ober-Leimbach (A)
Obstgarten (A)
Räzern (A)
Rebegg (A)
Rossweg (A)
Seelisberg (A)
Sihlau (A)
Sihlhof (A)
Sonnau (A)
Sonnenberg (A)
Sood (A)
Soodhof (A)
Soodrain (A)

Tal (A)
Tiefe (A)
Tüchelholz
Vögeli (A)
Vorderer Letten (A)
Vorderer Stieg (A)
Waldi (A)
Wanneten (A)
Weier (A)
Wilhof (A)
Zopf (A)
Zwängiweg (A)

Surrounding Parishes

Küsnacht
Langnau am Albis
Rüschlikon
Sankt Peter (Zürich)
Stallikon
Zollikon

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

The following censuses are available for Kilchberg:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1633 1185140 1 687
1634 1185139 1 188
1637 1185141 2 309
1640 1185143 1 491
1649 1185149 1 61
1657 1185179 1 114
1671 1185153 1 355
1684 1185159 1 265
1689 1185164 1 355
1695 1185164 2 483
1709 1185169 1 256
1721 1185173 2 523

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Kilchberg families:

Civil Registration

Civil registration began in 1876. Kilchberg belongs to the Thalwil-Rüschlikon-Kilchberg civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:

Zivilstamdsamt Thalwil-Rüschlikon-Kilchberg
Alte Landstrasse 112
Postfach
CH - 8800 Thalwil

Tel: +41 44 723 22 28

email: zivilstandsamt@thalwil.ch

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Kilchberg prior to 1875. Those that held citizenship within the municipality of Adliswil are indicated with (A):

Ammann
Bader (from Affoltern
    bei Zürich) (A)
Baumann
Bickel (A)
Blickenstorfer (A)
Büeler
Eschmann
Franzetti (1875, from
    Italy) (A)
Freimann
Freimann (A)
Freymann (A)
Frick (A)

Gassmann (A)
Götschi (A)
Günthardt
Günthardt (A)
Hausheer
Hofmann (A)
Hotz
Hotz (A)
Huber
Huber (A)
Kienast
Knüssi (A)
Kölliker (1812, from
    Thalwil)

Kriesi (1875, from
    Gossau) (A)
Landis
Landolt (A)
Maurer (A)
Meier (1839, from
    Stallikon)
Müller
Münch (A)
Naegeli (A)
Nägeli
Nägeli (A)
Peter
Rellstab

Scheller
Scheller (A)
Schwarzenbach (1830,
    from Rüschlikon)
Schwarzenbach (A)
Speerli
Stähli (A)
Stehli (A)
Syfrig
Wäckerling (1820, from
    Gossau)
Welti (A)
Widmer (A)
Würmli (A)

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland