Kimcote, Leicestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Kimcote, Leicestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search

EnglandGotoarrow.png LeicestershireGotoarrow.png Leicestershire Parishes

Guide to Kimcote, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Kimcote, Leicestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Guthlaxton
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Lutterworth
Registration District Lutterworth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1566
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Guthlaxton
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Parish History

KIMCOTE (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Lutterworth, hundred of Guthlaxton, S. division of the county of Leicester, 3½ miles (E. N. E.) from Lutterworth. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Kimcote, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.[2]
Kimcote, Leicestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1653-1910
1653-1910
1653-1910

Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office

Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
E-mail: recordoffice@leics.gov.uk

Diocese of Leicester: Kimcote and Walton Bap 1653 - 1912 Marr 1653 - 1999 (Banns to1998) Bur 1653 - 1984

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438747.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. From: Samuel A. Lewis, [A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848)], pp. 674-677. Date accessed: 17 August 2012.
  2. 'Leicestershire Parish Registers', Parish Chest, accessed 27 January 2014.