Kincardineshire, Scotland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United Kingdom
Scotland
Kincardineshire
Scotland Wiki Topics
Flag of Scotland.jpg
Beginning Research
Record Types
Scotland Background
Local Research Resources
Scotland-kincardineshire.png

Guide to Kincardineshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Background

Kincardine (or the Mearns, an ancient designation), is a maritime county in the east of Scotland, bounded on the north-west by the river Dee and part of Aberdeenshire, on the east and south-east by the German Ocean, and on the south-west by the county of Fordar (or Angus).  It is about 32 miles in length and 24 miles in extreme breadth, comprising an area of 380 square miles or 243,444 acres.  

The county consists of nineteen parishes.  The county town is Stonehaven and there is the royal burgh of Bervie or Inverbervie and five villages.  The surface of the county is tolerably level near the coast.  The Grampian hills occupy the central, western, and northern parts of the county, with the richly cultivated area called the Howe of the Mearns at their base.  About one-third of the land is in cultivation, one-eighth is capable of being cultivated, and the remainder is rough fell and mountain pasture.

Cattle and sheep are raised in the county.  There are no minerals of importance.  There is limestone and sandstone but they are not wrought.  The manufactures are chiefly coarse linens and canvas and some cotton, but are not extensive.

(Source:  Samuel Lewis' Topographical Dictionary of Scotland, 2nd ed., 1851.  FHL book 941 E5L.) 

Scotlands People: An Important Online Source

ScotlandsPeople is one of the largest online sources of original genealogical information. If you are researching UK genealogy, your Scottish ancestry or building your Scottish family tree, they have more than 100 million records to look through.

The comprehensive choice of Scottish records includes:

  • Statutory Registers
  • Old Parish Registers
  • Catholic Parish Registers
  • CPR Others
  • Census
  • Valuation Rolls
  • Soldiers’ Wills
  • Wills & Testaments
  • Coats of Arms

For more detail on exact record availability, see Availability. For examples of the records available, see Record Types and Examples. More information on the site, its contents, and instructions for using it can be found in the ScotlandsPeople Wiki article. Indexes may be searched for free, and there is a small pay per view fee to see the actual digitized record.

Census

Many census records have been indexed by surname. Some indexes cover one parish (and will be listed in the Wiki on the parish page) and some indexes are for the county as a whole. The Family History Library has county-wide census placename indexes for Kincardineshire for 1881.  Click here for other census indexes available at the library.



Church Records

Civil Registration or Statutory Registers

For details on information found in statutory registers and other methods of searching them, see Scotland Statutory Registers - Vital Records.

Refer to the ScotlandsPeople Wiki article.
Images and Indexes Available at ScotlandsPeople Website ($)
Images-Years
Indexes
Births 1855-1910 ◊ScotlandsPeople Website has indexes to 2012.
Marriages 1855-1935
Deaths 1855-1960

Parishes

Some of the Kincardine-shire parish records are indexed in Kincardine, Scotland, Extracted Parish Records. This database is a collection of historical parish registers from the county of Kincardine in the country of Scotland. The records in this collection can range in date from the early 1500s to the mid- to late-1800s. The records include baptisms/christenings, burials, marriages, tombstone inscriptions, obituaries, tax lists, wills, and other miscellaneous types of records. Also included are some records from non-conformist churches. You will find interesting phonetic spelling. Some of the records may be in Latin or even a Welsh or Scottish dialect. Due to the nature of the records and because the records were originally compiled by a third party, it is difficult to absolutely verify the completeness and validity of the data.

Here is a list of historic parishes for the county of Kincardine. Click on the parish name to see information about records.

Parish No. Parish No.
Aberluthnot -- see Marykirk 265 Fordoun 259
Arbuthnott 250 Garvock 260
Banchory Devenick and Portlethen 251 Glenbervie 261
Banchory Ternan 252 Inverbervie -- see Bervie 254
Benholm 253 Kinneff & Catterline 262
Bervie (formerly Inverbervie) 254 Laurencekirk 263
Catterline -- see Kinneff 262 Maryculter 264
Dunnottar 255 Marykirk (formerly Aberluthnot) 265
Durris 256 Nigg 266
Fettercairn 257 Portlethen 251/2
St. Cyrus 267
Fetteresso 258 Strachan 268

http://www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk/ Scotland Census, 1911], index and images, ($).


Maps

  • Click here to see a parish outline map of Kincardineshire. 

Poorhouse Records

Societies

Aberdeen & NE Scotland FHS
164 King St.
Aberdeen
AB24 5BD
Scotland
Tel No: +44 (0)1224 646323

Websites

[Return to the Scotland county list.]