Kingsley, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Kinglsey, Cheshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire ParishesGotoarrow.png Kingsley

Guide to Kingsley, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History

KINGSLEY, a township, in the parish of Frodsham, union of Runcorn, hundred of Eddisbury, S. division of the county of Chester, 3¾ miles (S. E.) from Frodsham;There is a place of worship for Wesleyans; and a school is endowed with four acres and a half of land. [1]


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241240.

Church Records

Kingsley Parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Kingsley Parish St John the Evangelist chapelry (1853) Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1853-1909

Kingsley is a chapelry in the parish of Frodsham created a parish in 1853.

 Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers for Kingsley Chapelry, 1851-1927 Cheshire Record Office nos.: P263/1-3.

Parish Registers: Kingsley Film
Baptisms, 1851-1927. Banns, 1851-1914. Burials, 1851-1902.
1656400 Items 9 - 12

Bishop's transcripts for Kingsley, 1876-1883 Cheshire Record Office: EDB 120

Bishops Transcripts: Kingsley
Baptisms, burials, 1876-1883.
1647517 Item 1

Non-Conformist Churches

  • Primitive Methodist

Non-Conformists Church Records:

Church records for the Kingsley and Frodsham Primitive Methodist Circuit, 1899-1965 Cheshire Record Office call nos.: EMC 4/4653/6.

Church records for the Kingsley and Frodsham Primitive Methodist Circuit Film
Baptisms, 1899-1965.
2299528 Item 26

Church records for the Primitive Methodist Chapel, Kingsley, 1925-1946 Cheshire Record Office call no.: EMS 199/1/1.

Church records for the Primitive Methodist Chapel, Kingsley
Marriages, 1925-1946.
2299472 Item 7

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Runcorn (1837-1974)
  • Vale Royal (1974-98)
  • Cheshire Central (1998-2007)
  • Cheshire (2007-09)
  • Cheshire West & Chester (2009+)

Poor Law Unions

  • Runcorn

Probate Records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

See a gazetteer description of Adlington at Vision of Britain.

Web Sites


  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 677-680.Date accessed: 17 January 2014.