Kings County, New Brunswick

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

 

Canada  Gotoarrow.png  New Brunswick  Gotoarrow.png  Kings County

New Brunswick Research Topics
New Brunswick Flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
New Brunswick Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources



{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg


History

Kings County, located in central New Brunswick, was one of the original counties set up in 1785. The parishes of Westfield, Sussex, Springfield and Kingston were created in 1786. In 1795, Greenwich was apportioned from Kingston. Norton and Hampton were from Sussex and Kingston. Upham was separated from Hampton in 1835, Studholm from Sussex in 1840, Havelock from Studholm in 1858, Hammond from Upham in 1858, Kars from Kingston in 1859, Rothesay from Hampton in 1870, and Cardwell and Waterford from Sussex in 1874. [1]

Maps and Gazetteers

Populated Places

1 2 3 4 5

POPULATED PLACE

FORMER NAME, if applicable TYPE

FHL  CATALOG

WIKIPEDIA

Anagance Ridge       Link   Link
Bloomfield         Link   Link
Cardwell         Link   Link
Central Norton        Link   Link
Chambers Settlement        Link   Link
Clifton        Link   Link
Collina        Link   Link
Donegal         Link   Link
Dutch Valley         Link   Link
East Riverside        
  Link
East Riverside-Kingshurst          Link   Link
Fairvale        Link   Link
French Village           Link   Link
Hammond          Link   Link
Hampton        Link   Link 
Havelock        Link   Link
Kars        Link   Link
Kingshurst            Link
Kingston        Link   Link
Londonderry         Link   Link
Lower Ridge        Link   Link
Mechanics Settlement         Link   Link
Norton        Link   Link
Passekeag         Link   Link
Penobsquis        Link   Link
Renforth         Link   Link
Rothesay        Link   Link
Springfield        Link   Link
Studholm        Link   Link
Sussex          Link   Link
Sussex Corner        Link   Link
Upham         Link   Link
Warneford         Link   Link
Waterford         Link   Link
Westfield        Link   Link

Neighboring Counties

Queens County * Westmorland County * Albert County * Saint John County * Charlotte County

Civil Registrations

Birth Records

Marriage Records

Death Records

Census

In Canada, census returns are closed for 92 years after the time of enumeration. Census returns prior to 1851 are rarely complete for any area. Due to boundary changes, census records may be found in Nova Scotia records.

Online Searchable Databases, Books and Images

Year Name of Collection Where Available

1671

Acadian genealogy exchange - v. 5, no. 4 Oct 1976;

FamilySearch Books Online Acadian Families in 1671 begins on page 118
At various libraries (WorldCat)

1708 East Coast of Arcadia 1708 At various libraries (WorldCat)
FamilySearch
1714 Acadian families in 1714 At various libraries (WorldCat)
FamilySearch
1770 Nova Scotia 1770 census Rootsweb
Nova Scotia Archives
Ancestry ($)
FamilySearch
1783 1783 Studholm Report CensusFinder, index.
1785 Cape Ann Association Of Loyalists - 1785 Rootsweb
[Return of Persons who have Lands located to them on Schodiack River above the Glebe, 10 May 1785 Genweb]
1788 Moncton Township Settlers 1788 Rootsweb
1800-1842 Ontario and Nova Scotia Census, 1800-1842 Ancestry ($)
1804 Scotch Emigrants - 1804 Rootsweb
1811-1818 Nova Scotia Census Returns, 1811, 1817 and 1818 Nova Scotia Archives
1827 Nova Scotia Census Returns 1827 Nova Scotia Archives
Ancestry ($)
FamilySearch
WorldCat
1838 Nova Scotia Census Returns 1838 Nova Scotia Archives
1851 Canada Census, 1851 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1861 Census of Canada, 1861 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1871 Census of Canada, 1871 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1871-1901 Jewish residents of the Maritime provinces in the 1871-1901 censuses of Canada FamilySearch
WorldCat
1881 Census of Canada, 1881 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1891 Census of Canada, 1891 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1901 Census of Canada, 1901 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1911 Census of Canada, 1911 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1921 Census of Canada, 1921 Ancestry ($)



Church Records

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print


List of Cemeteries in the County

Court Records

Wills and Probate

Directories

Immigration Records =

Land Records

Military Records

Newspapers and Obituaries

Taxation Records

Repositories


Websites

References

  1. Kings County Genealogical Guide, http://archives.gnb.ca/Documents/CountyGuides/Kings_en-CA.pdf, April 5, 2017
  2. We Lived, a Genealogical Newsletter of New Brunswick Sources, 1979-1983, Cleadie B. Barnett, Editor & Publisher