Kingsbury County, South Dakota Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

United StatesGotoarrow.png South Dakota Gotoarrow.png Kingsbury County

Guide to Kingsbury County, South Dakota ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

County Facts
County seat: DeSmet
Organized: January 8, 1873
Parent County(s): Hanson [1]
Neighboring Counties
Beadle  • Brookings  • Clark  • Hamlin  • Lake  • Miner  • Sanborn
See County Maps
Courthouse
SouthDakotaKingsburyCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
SD-kingsbury.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Sdgwlogo2.gif This page adopted by:
SDGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
and its representative
Kingsbury Co. SDGenWeb
Adopt a page today



County Information

Description

County Courthouse

Kingsbury County Courthouse
102 2nd St SE
De Smet, SD 57231
Phone: 605.854.3832

Clerk Court has birth, death burial records from 1905, marriage records from 1890, divorce and court records from 1920, probate and naturalization records[2]

Kingsbury County, South Dakota Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1880

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1873--Kingsbury County was created 8 January 1873 from Hanson County.
  • County seat: De Smet [1]

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county[3]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communites
Townships
  • Badger
  • Baker
  • Denver
  • De Smet
  • Esmond
  • Hartland
  • Iroquois
  • Le Sueur
  • Manchester
  • Mathews
  • Spirit Lake
  • Spring Lake
  • Whitewood
Ghost towns


Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Kingsbury County, South Dakota online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See South Dakota Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1880 1,102
1890 8,562 677.0%
1900 9,866 15.2%
1910 12,560 27.3%
1920 12,802 1.9%
1930 12,805 0.0%
1940 10,831 −15.4%
1950 9,962 −8.0%
1960 9,227 −7.4%
1970 7,657 −17.0%
1980 6,679 −12.8%
1990 5,925 −11.3%
2000 5,815 −1.9%
2010 5,148 −11.5%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".


State Census Records

Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for South Dakota starting in 1910. For links to Federal census indexes, see South Dakota Census.

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about South Dakota denominations, view the South Dakota Church Records wiki page.

Lutheran

St. Paul's Lutheran Church, De Smet

  • Records of St. Paul's Lutheran Church, De Smet, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Trinity Lutheran Church

  • Records of Trinity Lutheran Church, Kingsbury County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See South Dakota Land and Property for additional information about early South Dakota land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Kingsbury County, South Dakota Genealogy. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section South Dakota Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

World War I


Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

South Dakota Newspapers Online

South Dakota Newspaper Catalogs

  • U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper.

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Kingsbury County, South Dakota Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in South Dakota, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for South Dakota, Kingsbury then click Probate records.

Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

South Dakota tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Kingsbury Genealogical Society
PO Box 328
DeSmet, SD 57231
Website

Kingsbury Genealogical Society
PO BOx 330
DeSmet, SD 57231-0330

Oldham Library and Historical Association
PO Box 243
Oldham, SD 57051
Telephone: 605-482-8178 or 605-482-8158

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002)Kingsbury County, South Dakota, p.625
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Kingsbury County, South Dakota," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kingsbury_County%2C_South_Dakota accessed 6 November 2016.