Kingswood (near Bristol), Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Kingswood (near Bristol), Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Kingswood (near Bristol), Gloucestershire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Langley and Swinehead
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Keynsham
Registration District Keynsham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1822
Bishop's Transcripts: 1822
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hawkesbury
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Parish History

Kingswood Holy Trinity

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Kingswood Holy Trinity parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[1][2][3][4]
Kingswood Holy Trinity Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1823-1858 1823-1858 1823-1858 1823-1858 1823-1858 1823-1858

Census records

Contributor: Include an overview if there is any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed. Add a link to online sites for indexes and/or images. Also add a link to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Poor Law Unions

Keynsham Poor Law Union, Somerset

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References