Kirdford, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Kirdford, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Petworth|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1571|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
KIRDFORD (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Petworth, hundred of Rotherbridge, rape of Arundel, W. division of Sussex, 4½ miles (N. E. by N.) from Petworth; containing, with the chapelry of Plaistow.
Kirdford St John the Baptist is an Ancient Parish which included Hasfold-Shipburn, Pallingham and Plaistow and is in District of Chichester West Sussex. In the Middle Ages the chapelry at Plaistow was formed within this parish, which was replaced in 1853-1854 by Plaistow, Sussex.
The illustrated history of the parish Kirdford St john the Baptist
The parish church has been designated as a grade I listed BuildingBritish listed building
See also Kirdford wikipedia
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
See alsoPetworth Registration District For the civil registration history see Horsham registration district Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralized Certificates Office Registration Service West Sussex Record Office County Hall Chichester PO19 1RN Phone: 01243 642122
Kirdford, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|Kirdford, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Kirdford St John the Baptist
Baptisms 1571-1640 Marriages 157-1640 Burials 1571-1640 Bishop's Transcripts Baptisms 1569-1876 Marriages 1558-1876 Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Kirdford
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474672.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 689-692. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.