Kirk Langley, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Kirk Langley, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Kirk Langley, Derbyshire|
Kirk Langley Derbyshire
|Hundred||Morlestone and Litchurch|
|Poor Law Union||Belper|
|Parish registers: 1654|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1662|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Kirk Langley St Michael is an Ancient Parish in the county of Derbyshire. Other places in the parish include: Meynell Langley.
LANGLEY, KIRK (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Belper, hundred of Morleston and Litchurch, S. division of the county of Derby, 4¾ miles (W. N. W.) from Derby, on the road to Ashbourn with the township of Meynell-Langley. The Primitive Methodists have a place of worship. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Kirk Langley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Kirk Langley St Michael (1654) Parish Online Records|
|FS PR's|| 1895-1912
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non Conformist Churches
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241293.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Poor Law Unions
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Kirk Langely on GENUKI
- Lewis. Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 23-25. Date accessed: 17 June 2013.