Kirkby Overblow, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Kirkby Overblow, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Kirkby Overblow, Yorkshire|
|Poor Law Union||Carlton Gilbert Union|
|Registration District||Knaresborough; Otley|
|Parish registers: 1647|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1632|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
KIRKBY-OVERBLOW (All Saints), a parish, in the Upper division of the wapentake of Claro, W. riding of York; containing, with the chapelry of Stainburn, and the townships of Kearby with Netherby, Rigton, and Sicklinghall, 1623 inhabitants, of whom 381 are in the township of Kirkby-Overblow, 6 miles (W.) from Wetherby. At Stainburn is a chapel. There are four places of worship for Wesleyans in the parish. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
|AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£) (£)|
|KIRKBY OVERBLOW PARISH (1632) Online Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464251.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 692-697. Date accessed: 21 October 2013.