Kloten parish, Zürich, Switzerland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Kloten parish

Guide to Kloten parish, Zürich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Geography

Prior to 1958, Kloten included the parish of Opfikon. Kloten includes the village of Rüti of the civil parish of Winkel.

History

In 1958, the new church parish of Opfikon was established.

Place Names

Locations within Kloten

Surrounding Parishes

Bassersdorf
Bülach
Dietlikon
Embrach
Lufingen
Oberglatt
Rümlang
Schwamendingen
Seebach
Wallisellen

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

The following censuses are available for Kloten:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1634 1185140 1 325
1637 1185142 2 315
1640 1185144 1 1
1643 1185146 2 851
1646 1185148 2 231
1649 1185149 2 283
1655-1656 1185179 2 97
1657 1185179 1 99
1663 1185179 2 409
1670 1185154 2 687
1678 1185158 1 543
1682 1185160 1 595
1689 1185162 2 479
1701 1185168 1 111
1710 1185171 1 511
1762 1185178 2 985

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Kloten families:

Civil Registration

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Kloten prior to 1875:

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland