Knossington, Leicestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Knossington, Leicestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Leicestershire Gotoarrow.png Leicestershire Parishes

Guide to Knossington, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Knossington, Leicestershire
St+Peter Knossington Leicestershire.jpg
St Peter Knossington, Leicestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Gartree
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Oakham
Registration District Oakham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1564
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Gartree
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Parish History

KNOSSINGTON (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Oakham, hundred of Gartree, S. division of the county of Leicester, 4½ miles (W. by S.) from Oakham. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Knossington like this:

KNOSSINGTON, a parish, with a village, in the district of Oakham and county of Leicester; on the river Gwash, adjacent to Rutland, 4 miles W by S of Oakham r. station.


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Knossington, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.[2]
Knossington, Leicestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1558-1910

Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office

Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120

Diocese of Leicester: Knossington Bap 1588 - 1947 Marr 1588 - 1842 Bur 1588 - 1995

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438742.

Poor Law Unions

Oakham Poor Law Union, Rutland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 708-710. Date accessed: 27 August 2012.
  2. 'Leicestershire Parish Registers', Parish Chest, accessed 27 January 2014.