Knowle, Warwickshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Knowle, Warwickshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png WarwickshireGotoarrow.png Warwickshire Parishes

Knowle, Warwickshire
St. John the Baptist, Knowle .jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hemlingford
County Warwickshire
Poor Law Union Solihull
Registration District Solihull
Records begin
Parish registers: 1682
Bishop's Transcripts: 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Arden
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Manor of Knowle
Location of Archive
Warwickshire County Record Office

Parish History

Knowle, is a village, a chapelry, and a sub-district in Solihull district, Warwickshire. The village stands on a hill, adjacent to the Birmingham and Warwick canal, it is 1¼ mile NE of the Oxford and Birmingham railway, and 9½ miles SE of Birmingham; the post office is under Birmingham. The chapelry is in Hampton-in-Arden parish. The sub-district contains Balsall hamlet, and two parishes.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Knowle parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials (Ancestry) - (£).[2][3]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[4]
KNOWLE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1651-1812 1651-1812 1651-1812 1651-1812 1651-1812 1651-1812
AC 1813-1910 1813-1910
TGEN 1682-1812
1682-1812
1682-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464171.



Poor Law Unions

Solihull Poor Law Union, Warwickshire


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72). Date accessed and adapted: 14 November 2013.
  2. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1535-1812,', Ancestry, accessed 17 June 2014.
  3. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 1 July 2014.
  4. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.