Knox County, Nebraska Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Knox County, Nebraska)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Nebraska


Knox County


Knox County, Nebraska
Map
Map of Nebraska highlighting Knox County
Location in the state of Nebraska
Map of the U.S. highlighting Nebraska
Location of Nebraska in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 10, 1857
County Seat Center
Courthouse
px
Address Knox County Courthouse
206 Main St
P.O. Box 166
Center, NE 68742
Phone: 402-288-4478
County Website


Knox County, Nebraska genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.


{{{link}}}

County Information

Knox County, Nebraska Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1857 1860 1857 1857

County Courthouse


County Clerk has marriage records. County Judge has probate and court records. Clerk District Court has divorce records. Register of Deeds has land records. [2]

History

Henry Knox.JPG

The county is named for General Henry Knox (1750-1806), Revolutionary War hero, and the nation's first Secretary of War.[3]

Parent County

1857 Knox County was created 10 February 1857 from Pierce County and unorganized territory. County seat: Center [4]

Description

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places[5]

Cities
Villages
  • Bazile Mills
  • Center
  • Niobrara
  • Santee
  • Verdel
  • Verdigre
  • Wausa
  • Winnetoon
Census-designated place
Unincorporated communities
  • Dukeville
  • Jelen
  • Knoxville
  • Mars
  • Pishelville
  • Sparta
  • Venus
  • Walnut
Townships
  • Addison
  • Bohemia
  • Central
  • Cleveland
  • Columbia
  • Creighton
  • Dolphin
  • Dowling
  • Eastern
  • Frankfort
  • Harrison
  • Herrick
  • Hill
  • Jefferson
  • Lincoln
  • Logan
  • Miller
  • Morton
  • Niobrara
  • North Frankfort
  • Peoria
  • Raymond
  • Spade
  • Sparta
  • Union
  • Valley
  • Verdigre
  • Walnut Grove
  • Washington
  • Western

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

L'Eau Qui Court Cemetery is on land purchased on June 19, 1874 by the L'Eau Qui Court Cemetery Company. The company was formed to lay out and establish a cemetery in the vicinity of the town of Niobrara, Knox Co., Nebraska. No records are available from June 1874 to May 19, 1922. Louis Dose, the undertaker had all of those records in his possession. They were destroyed in a fire of the Opocensky Store in 1922. A new plat was creates, deeds recorded for lots purchased were marked on the new plat and the members of the Cemetery Board carefully searched the cemetery grounds marking every known grave on that plat. L'Eau Qui Court Cemetery is one of the oldest cemeteries in the state of Nebraska which was duly and legally organized as a cemetery association. It is the resting place for many of our war dead. Civil War veterans are resting in final peace in many of the plots. This cemetery has a grave of the "Unknown Soldier, Known Only to God". Many pioneers have returned to their native soil for their eternal resting place.

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
NEGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
NEGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Nebraska Cemeteries
Billion Graves
See Nebraska Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1860 152
1870 261 71.7%
1880 3,666 1304.6%
1890 8,582 134.1%
1900 14,343 67.1%
1910 18,358 28.0%
1920 18,894 2.9%
1930 19,110 1.1%
1940 16,478 −13.8%
1950 14,820 −10.1%
1960 13,300 −10.3%
1970 11,723 −11.9%
1980 11,457 −2.3%
1990 9,534 −16.8%
2000 9,374 −1.7%
2010 8,701 −7.2%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".
State Census Records
Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for Nebraska starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Nebraska Census.

For tips on accessing Knox County, Nebraska Genealogy census records online, see: Nebraska Census.

Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Nebraska denominations, view the Nebraska Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Nebraska Land and Property for additional information about early Nebraska land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


For more information see Nebraska Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Knox County, Nebraska Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nebraska Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Neknox.png

Military

Revolutionary War
Civil War
WWI

Newspapers

For information on Nebraska newspapers, see Nebraska Newspapers. Nebraska Newspapers Online

Nebraska Newspaper Catalogs

Probate

In most counties in Nebraska, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Nebraska - Knox - Probate records.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Nebraska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Marriage Records

Online Marriage Records Indexes and Images

Societies and Libraries

County, Township and City Societies

  • Niobrara Historical Society
    89054 519 Ave
    Box 241
    Niobrara, NE 68760
    Phone: 402-857-3794

Libraries

  • Eastern Township Library
    206 Main S
    Crofton, NE 68730
    Phone: 402-388-4915

Family History Centers

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 452-465. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Knox County, Nebraska page 431, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. "Henry Knox," Wikipedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Henry_Knox.
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Knox County, Nebraska," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Knox_County,_Nebraska, accessed 1 August 2016.
Retrieved from "https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Knox_County,_Nebraska_Genealogy&oldid=2775822"