Kongsted Parish, Præstø, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.png Denmark Gotoarrow.pngPræstø County Gotoarrow.pngKongsted

Guide to Kongsted, Præstø, Denmark ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.


History

(Write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)

Kongsted Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift Add here
Pastorat Add here
Amt 1662 - 1793 Tryggevælde
Amt 1794 - 1970 Præstø
Herred Fakse
Kommune Add here
1788 – 1793 Lægd number 34
1794 – 1869 Lægd number 34
Retskreds Add here
Skifteretten Add here
Gods Add here


Place Names

Bavnebakke, Blæsenborghuset, Bogmose, Borup Hestehave, Borup Hestehave Huse, Borup Mark, Borup Kongsted, Bovmose, Brødebæks Mælle Neder, Brødebæks Mølle Over,
Eskilstrup, Eskilstrup Mark, Eskilstrup Mølle,
Fru Mertes Kilde, Fruenshavehus,
Gavevænge, Gavevænge Huse, Granhøjgaard, Grunderup, Gøgsmose, Gøgsmosen,
Havehuset, Hjortebjerg, Hyllede, Hyllede Mark,
Kludeegen, Kobanke, Kongsted, Kongsted Borup, Kongsted Mark, Kongsted Strandhuse, Kongsted-Borup, Kongstedgaard, Krageborg,
Leestrup, Leestrup Strand, Lundehuset, Lystrup, Lystrup Hgd.,
Nymarkshuse, Nymarkshuset,
Præstø Fjord, Pugebjerg,
Rødehuse, Rønnede,
Skademosehuset, Skjelbækshuset, Skjeldemosehuset, Skov Torup, Skyttehuset, Snedegaarden, Sortemøllehus, Store Lyng, Svennerup, Svennerup Overdrev, Svennerup Skovhuse,
Tingerup, Tingerup Tykke, Tornemark, Torup, Torup Skov,
Vandvænge,
Aastrup, Aastrup Hestehave, Aastrup Mark,


To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



Family History Library Records

Click Denmark, Præstø Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Library, that may be viewed on loan at a Family History Center near you. Click on "Places within Denmark, Præstø" and then select your parish.

References

-Krabsen & Medici. "Krabsens Stednavnebase." http://www.krabsen.dk/stednavnebase/

-Trap, J. P., ed. Kongeriget Danmark, 4te ed. Vol.3, Sorø, Præstø, og Bornholms Amt, København: G. E. C. Gads Forlag, 1921