Kosovo Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Kosovo)
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.png Kosovo

Kosovo Wiki Topics
Flag of Kosovo.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Kosovo Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to Kosovo genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Country Information

Kosovo is a disputed territory and partially recognised state in Europe bordered by Serbia, Macedonia, Albania, and Montenegro. It was formerly part of the Ottoman Empire. The official languages are Albanian and Serbian.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Kosovo Research

Links to articles on getting started with Kosovo research.

Kosovo Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Kosovo research.



Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Kosovo Map

Kosovo municipalities.gif

Administrative divisions

Kosovo is divided into 38 municipalities. The first name is Albanian, and the second one is Serbian.

  1. Deçan / Dečani
  2. Dragash / Dragaš
  3. Drenas / Glogovac
  4. Ferizaj / Uroševac
  5. Fushë Kosovë / Kosovo Polje*
  6. Gjakova / Đakovica
  7. Gjilan / Gnjilane
  8. Gracanicë / Gračanica
  9. Hani i Elezit / Elez Han
  10. Istog / Istok
  11. Junik / Junik
  12. Kaçanik / Kačanik
  13. Kamenicë / Kosovska Kamenica
  14. Klinë / Klina
  15. Kllokot / Klokot-Vrbovac*
  16. Leposaviq / Leposavić
  17. Lipjan / Lipljan
  18. Malishevë / Mališevo
  19. Mamush / Mamuša
  1. Mitrovicë Veriore / Severna Mitrovica*
  2. Mitrovicë / Kosovska Mitrovica
  3. Novobërdë / Novo Brdo*
  4. Obiliç / Obilić
  5. Rahovec / Orahovac
  6. Partesh / Parteš*
  7. Pejë / Peć
  8. Podujevë / Podujevo
  9. Prishtinë / Priština
  10. Prizren / Prizren
  11. Ranillug / Ranilug*
  12. Skënderaj / Srbica
  13. Shtërpcë / Štrpce*
  14. Shtime / Štimlje
  15. Suharekë / Suva Reka
  16. Viti / Vitina
  17. Vushtrri / Vučitrn
  18. Zubin Potok / Zubin Potok*
  19. Zveçan / Zvečan*

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Kosovo," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kosovo, accessed 27 April 2016.