Kragerø, Telemark, Norway Genealogy
Guide to Kragerø, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records
Kragerø clerical district contains parish registers for Kragerø and Sannidal (Sannikedal) parishes. Kragerø and Sannidal (Sannikedal) were separated from Bamble clerical district in 1738. Kragerø clerical district included Sannidal and Skåtøy until 1868 when Sannidal became its own clerical district. See Sannidal clerical district for records for Sannidal.
The Family History Library has microfilm copies of the church books, 1702-1927.
Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet:
- 1664-1666 Census This census was taken by the local civil authorities. Bamle (Bamble) fogderi b. 6 was for Sannikedal (Sannidal) clerical district. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library on Film 122978 Item 1
Scanned images are online at Digitalarkivet, Øvre Telemark fogderi, Nedre Telemark fogderi, Bamble fogderi, Manntall 6, 1664. Digitalarkivet also has an online database, Manntall 1663-66 for Bamle, Øvre og Nedre Telemark.
- 1664-1666 Census Sogneprestenes manntall. Bamle (Bamble) prosti census was taken by the local parish priests. Bamble clerical district included Sannidal, Kragerø parish and Langesund. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library on Film 122968 Item 5
Scanned images are online at Digitalarkivet, Øvre Telemark prosti, Nedre Telemark prosti, Bamble prosti, Manntall 12, 1664 - 1666.
- 1801 Census The 1801 census (b. 30) for Kragerø city is on microfilm at the Family History Library Film 122998 Item 4. A searchable database is online at Digitalarkivet. 1801-telling for 0801 Kragerøe
- 1865 Census The 1865 census for Kragerø clerical district included Sandøkedal (Sannidal) and Skaadø (Skåtøy) parishes. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library Film 123158 Item 4. It is available also in print 948.1 A1 no. 113. and for Kragerø city Films 123163-123164 A searchable database is online at Digitalarkivet. 1865-telling for 0801 Kragerø
- 1875 Census The 1875 census for Kragerø city is on microfilm at the Family History Library Films 255558-255559
- 1900 Census The 1900 census for Kragerø city is on microfilm at the Family History Library Films 275733-275743. A searchable database is online at Digitalarkivet. 1900-telling for 0801 Kragerø
- 1910 Census The 1910 census search at Digitalarkivet
- The census of 1865, 1875 (partial), 1900 and 1910 are also available at the Norwegian Historical Data Center
The book is now available as a downloadable PDF file on the internet Skjærgårdshistorier. It is for the Kragerø area.
Probate Registers for Kragerø 1724-1799 at Digitalarkivet.