Kvæfjord, Troms, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Kvæfjord, Norway)
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.png Norway Gotoarrow.pngTroms County Gotoarrow.pngKvæfjord

Guide to Kvæfjord, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records


Church Records

Kvæfjord clerical district contains church records for Kvæfjord parish in Troms County, Norway. Records begin in 1751.

Parish heading list shows the Norwegain headings on the parish records with an English translations for each of the different forms used throughout the records beginning in 1814. Prior to that time the records were kept in a journal format which varies with each parish.

Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet.

Census Records

  • 1701 see Ibestad clerical district.
  • Manntallet for Kvæfjords menighet 1701. The 1701 census for Kvæfjord congregation is available at the Family History Library.948.452/K1 X29j 1701 FHL INTL Book Available
  • Ekstraskattemanntallet 1763 Senja fogderi. The 1763 tax list for Senja fogderi includes the parishes of Senja, Astafjord, Trondenes, Kvæfjord, Bjarkøy, Lenvik, Hillesøy, Torsken, Tranøy, Berg, and Mefjord, and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.
  • Folketellingen den 1ste februar 1801, Norge.The 1801 census for Kvæfjord is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available in a searchable database at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  • 1845 folketelling for Kvæfjord prestegjeld (Troms). The 1845 census for Kvæfjord is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.
  • Folketellinga 1865 for Kvæfjord (Troms). An index of the 1865 census for Kvæfjord is available on microfiche at the Family History Library.
  • Folketellingen for kongeriket Norge den 1ste januar 1891. The 1891 Census for Kvæfjord is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah.
  • Folketellinga 1900 for Kvæfjord (Troms). An index to the 1900 census for Kvæfjord is available on microfiche at the Family History Library.

Court Records

Land Records

Probate Records

1706-1877 Senja judicial district.

1776-1809 Troms County judicial district.

1697-1824 Troms and Senja deanery.

Farm Books

  • Kvæfjordboka edited by Erling Linde and Jacob Norman. A genealogy of the people and their farms and a history of Kvæfjord in Troms county. Text in Norwegian.

Farm Names

27 Aspenes indre, 62 Aspenes ytre, 57 Berg, 7 Bjørneraa, 14 Bogen, 66 Bremnes, 18 Bømarken, 59 Dale, 59 Dalsneset, 21 Eidet, 61 Elde, 65 Elven, 2 Finsæter, 28 Finviken, 13 Flesnes, 16 Forøen, 51 Gaare indre, 4 Gapøen, 38 Garløs, 6 Godfjordbotn, 15 Gombogen, 44 Grashaalen, 23 Guldholmen, 20 Gullesfjordbotn, 8 Gunnesdal, 36 Haug, 63 Haugen, 33 Hemmestad nedre, 41 Hokland,12 Holand, 40 Hundstad, 24 Huseby indre, 56 Huseby nedre, 1 Kinn, 26 Kjengsnes, 48 Kristeligflaten, 54 Kvæfjord Præstegaard, 17 Langvasdalen, 47 Lavolden, 25 Lysaa, 48 Maalneset, 9 Mehus, 29 Melaaen, 22 Moelven, 64 Moldvik, 3 Myrland, 30 Refsnes, 5 Reinstad, 11 Røirvik, 10 Røkenes, 42 Salen, 34 Sandvik, 37 Skaar, 31 Skommesvik, 45 Storjorden, 48 Storstrømmen, 53 Strand, 43 Strømmen, 48 Strømsnes, 46 Sørli, 49 Tenvassaasen, 58 Trastad, 60 Utstrand, 19 Vaatvold, 39 Vebbestad, 48 Vik, 50 Vikeland, 47 Voktor, 47 Voktorstranden, 35 Øines

Kvæfjordboka Volume II

Berg, Bjørnrå,  Bogen, Bonstadvik, Borkenes, Bremnes, Bømark, Dale, Eide, Elde, Finnseter, Finnvik, Flesnes, Forholtan, Forøy, Forøyseter, Gambogen, Gapøy, Garles, Gullesfjordbotn, Gullholm, Gunnesdal, Gåre, Haug, Haugen, Hokland, Holand, Hunstad, Indre Aspenes, Indre Husby, Langvassbukt, Langvassdalen, Lyså, Kinn, Kjengsnes, Mehus, Melå, Moelv, Molvik, Myrland, Nedre Hemmestad, Nedre Husby, Nordre Rå, Refsnes, Reinstad, Røkenes, Rørvik, Rå, Råsjøen, Salen, Sandvik, Skommesnes, Skår, Storjord, Strand, Straumen, Sørlia, Tennvassås, Utstrand, Vebostad, Vik, Vikeland, Voktor, Våtvoll, Ytre Aspenes, Øvre Hemmestad, Øynes

Genealogy

Skarstad, Mary Dahl: Family tree of Anfin Anton Dahl. The author"s father Anfin Anton Dahl was born in Norway in 1849.  He was adopted by Jens Nikolai Pederson Dale and Inger Marie Nielsdatter. He married Anne Johanna Nelson (1850-1941) in 1875.  They immigrated to the United States in 1879 and settled in Minnesota. Anfin died in 1939 in Kirkland, Washington. Includes information on ancestors, descndants and related families.  The Dahl/Dale ancestors lived in Kvæfjord, Norway.

FHL 929.273 D137

References

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names

-Norman, Jac.,: Kvæfjordboka Bind II. Kvæfjord Kommune w/ Bygdeboknemda