Kyburg parish, Zürich, Switzerland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Kyburg parish

Guide to Kyburg parish, Zürich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Geography

History

Place Names

Locations within Kyburg

Billikon
Brünggen
Ettenhausen
Kyburg

Loo
Mittlere Seemerrüti
Mühlau
Neu-Brünggen

Obere Seemerrüti
Untere Seemerrüti
Weissental

Surrounding Parishes

Illnau
Seen
Töss
Weisslingen
Winterthur
Zell

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

The following censuses are available for Kyburg:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1634 1185139 3 201
1637 1185142 1 333
1640 1185144 2 121
1643 1185146 2 345
1646 1185148 1 447
1649 1185149 1 887
1671 1185154 2 71
1678 1185158 1 171
1682 1185159 2 157
1690 1185163 2 527
1695 1185167 1 997
1700 1185167 1 1005
1710 1185170 1 835
1725 1185178 1 71
1731 1185178 1 83

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Kyburg families:

Civil Registration

Civil registration began in 1876. Kyburg belongs to the Illnau-Effretikon civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:

Stadtverwaltung Illnau-Effretikon
Zivilstandsamt, 4 OG Stadthaus
Märtplatz 29
CH-8307 Effretikon

Tel: +41 52 354 24 15

email: zivilstandsamt@ilef.ch

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Kyburg prior to 1875:

Ammann (1839)
Bosshard
Bosshardt
Brüngger
Egg
Gehring (from Illnau)
Gross

Gut
Hafner
Hertenstein
Müller
Peter
Schreiber

Schuhmacher
Schumacher
Spörri
Weiss
Wettstein
Würgler

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland